Puerto Rican Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
It is better to put these in salted water before you fry them and only after they are dried. Also, the plantain "smoosh" better if they are cut at an angle, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Crockett, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
EXCELLENT, COMO MI ABUELITA LO ACE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was the first time my family had tried these. I liked them but my sons did not. I think I should have chosen a plantain that was a little more ripe. They had a sour taste to them. I dunked them in ketsup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good, but not the quickest thing to make. The drinking glass worked just fine to smoosh them. I served them with Arroz con pollo and a salad, and Hubby gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Just returned from Puerto Rico where we stayed in the mountains and my children discovered their love for tostones--these are exactly right! For people looking for the sweet plantains they have eaten in restaurants, sometimes called "maduros," make sure that you note that this recipe traditionally calls for green plantains and is not supposed to be sweet. If you want to make the sweet kind use yellow-brown overripe plantains. I made that mistake when I first moved to Miami!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
these are great with chimichurri sauce! it's made from parsley, cilantro, garlic, lemon, and oil. look up the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I followed this recipe to the letter, and it's fantastic. I tried a green plantain this time-- very subtly sweet, and, as another reviewer mentioned, great with garlic salt. I'm allowing another plantain to ripen, so I'll try the recipe that way as well. To mash the pieces, I put them one-by-one in between pieces of baking parchment, then put that in a wide, flat bowl, stacked another bowl inside of it, and pushed down a bit. I also liked the fact that this recipe didn't require a whole lot of oil, though I used an 8-inch stainless steel pan so the pieces would sit a little deeper in the oil. The finished product goes great with black beans and rice; I will definitely be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
These are awesome! I didn't use any water and my plantains were green. The trick is to hit them with salt the second they come out of the oil! I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
mmmm...I agree, don't need water and BUTTER is the way to go! I didn't add a spice at all and it was delish and just like I remember in Costa Rica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I always order fried plantains at the local Cuban restaurant, but they are completely different to how these turned out. Not sure how they prepare them but theirs are sticky and sweet, and kinda stick in your teeth. These were really dry and tasteless. Oh well, thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States