Puerto Rican Steamed Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
THIS IS A SIMPLY GOOD RICE, I DON'T CARE FOR CAL ROSE RICE, SO I USED LONG GRAIN W/THIS RECIPE AND IT TURNED OUT PERFECT. GOOD WITH ROAST CHICKEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This rice had a really nice texture to it. I did add a couple of cloves of garlic (minced) to the hot oil and cooked until brown prior to adding the water and salt. Gave it a nice, yet mild garlicky flavor. I used Jasmine rice because it's what I had in my pantry and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
GOOD RICE, I USED LONG GRAIN BECAUSE I DIDN'T HAVE CALROSE ON HAND AND IT CAME OUT PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This rice came out perfect, yea it stuck, but who cares it too was super good. MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Hey great recipe because i was looking for a great puffy rice recipe. I cooked some onion in the oil, i used olie oil and brown rice (to be more healthy). I was worried it would not come out well but it did. Next time i will add some chicken bouillon cubes to the water for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KISSTHECHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I have been a member of this site for over 3 years and this is the first recipe I felt was "must rate"!! I know it is a simple one however, it is great! I made Orange Chicken and wanted a sticky steamed rice - this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENAEF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I couldn't believe how delicious this was! I'm never going to make rice any other way. Served it with Bou's Chicken, also from this site, what a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This was was great, I wouldn't change a thing. I paired my rice with with fivebrigs' habichuelas (puerto rican style beans). Together, the rice and the beans reminded me of the meals we ate while on our trip in PR many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very, very good. I was a little worried about the amount of salt required but it was perfect! *Just a word of caution... When stirring/mixing during steaming or when ready to serve, don't scrape from the bottom layer of the pot or you'll mix and serve yourself hard, crispy rice. I happen to like the "crusted" bottom layer but not everyone does.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is wonderful "sticky rice". I added a cube of chicken bouillon instead of salt, and stopped the boiling a little sooner than directed, but did boil off a considerable amount of water first. Very delish and will make this regularly. 5 stars after my little changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States