Puerto Rican Steamed Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I think this recipe goes with everything not only beef stew. It is very simple to do. I love with puertorican style chicken stew (pollo guisado) and pink beans... and don't forget the tostones o ripe plaintains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trujillo Alto, Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was really good but not as flavorful as I was expecting based on previous reviews. A nice change from regular steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I have tried to make basic white rice the way my mother in-law makes and finally this recipe did it! Mine did not come out mushy, FINALLY! Loved it!** I use medium grain rice and decrease water by 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
The best rice I've ever made! Even though this is a very basic recipe, it is fantastic. I saled the recipe for 4. I used a very heavy, teflon coated saucepan and did not have any sticking. I did substitute a 14 oz can chicken broth and omitted the salt. If the lid of your pan doesn't seal tightly, wrap it in foil.. you have to keep the steam in as much as possible to get a nice fluffy rice. I also removed it from the heat for the last 5 minutes and let it sit. Do NOT peek! Remove the lid after 5 minutes off the heat and you'll have perfect rice with little to no scorched grains. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is wonderful "sticky rice". I added a cube of chicken bouillon instead of salt, and stopped the boiling a little sooner than directed, but did boil off a considerable amount of water first. Very delish and will make this regularly. 5 stars after my little changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very, very good. I was a little worried about the amount of salt required but it was perfect! *Just a word of caution... When stirring/mixing during steaming or when ready to serve, don't scrape from the bottom layer of the pot or you'll mix and serve yourself hard, crispy rice. I happen to like the "crusted" bottom layer but not everyone does.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This was was great, I wouldn't change a thing. I paired my rice with with fivebrigs' habichuelas (puerto rican style beans). Together, the rice and the beans reminded me of the meals we ate while on our trip in PR many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I couldn't believe how delicious this was! I'm never going to make rice any other way. Served it with Bou's Chicken, also from this site, what a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I have been a member of this site for over 3 years and this is the first recipe I felt was "must rate"!! I know it is a simple one however, it is great! I made Orange Chicken and wanted a sticky steamed rice - this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENAEF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Hey great recipe because i was looking for a great puffy rice recipe. I cooked some onion in the oil, i used olie oil and brown rice (to be more healthy). I was worried it would not come out well but it did. Next time i will add some chicken bouillon cubes to the water for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KISSTHECHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States