Puerto Rican Steamed Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
The best rice I've ever made! Even though this is a very basic recipe, it is fantastic. I saled the recipe for 4. I used a very heavy, teflon coated saucepan and did not have any sticking. I did substitute a 14 oz can chicken broth and omitted the salt. If the lid of your pan doesn't seal tightly, wrap it in foil.. you have to keep the steam in as much as possible to get a nice fluffy rice. I also removed it from the heat for the last 5 minutes and let it sit. Do NOT peek! Remove the lid after 5 minutes off the heat and you'll have perfect rice with little to no scorched grains. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I've made this quite a few times now with favorable reviews. I do the following changes. I use chicken broth or boullion cubes instead of regular water and after simmering for 25 minutes, stir from the bottom to "fluff", cover, and let steam an additional 10 to 15 minutes. The rice will separate better and it won't be as sticky and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This rice had a really nice texture to it. I did add a couple of cloves of garlic (minced) to the hot oil and cooked until brown prior to adding the water and salt. Gave it a nice, yet mild garlicky flavor. I used Jasmine rice because it's what I had in my pantry and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
THIS IS A SIMPLY GOOD RICE, I DON'T CARE FOR CAL ROSE RICE, SO I USED LONG GRAIN W/THIS RECIPE AND IT TURNED OUT PERFECT. GOOD WITH ROAST CHICKEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I have been a member of this site for over 3 years and this is the first recipe I felt was "must rate"!! I know it is a simple one however, it is great! I made Orange Chicken and wanted a sticky steamed rice - this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENAEF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Hey great recipe because i was looking for a great puffy rice recipe. I cooked some onion in the oil, i used olie oil and brown rice (to be more healthy). I was worried it would not come out well but it did. Next time i will add some chicken bouillon cubes to the water for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KISSTHECHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This was was great, I wouldn't change a thing. I paired my rice with with fivebrigs' habichuelas (puerto rican style beans). Together, the rice and the beans reminded me of the meals we ate while on our trip in PR many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very, very good. I was a little worried about the amount of salt required but it was perfect! *Just a word of caution... When stirring/mixing during steaming or when ready to serve, don't scrape from the bottom layer of the pot or you'll mix and serve yourself hard, crispy rice. I happen to like the "crusted" bottom layer but not everyone does.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
GOOD RICE, I USED LONG GRAIN BECAUSE I DIDN'T HAVE CALROSE ON HAND AND IT CAME OUT PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This tasted just like plain rice. I couldn't tell the difference from making it any other way. That being said, it was good but once again, just like any other plain rice to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States