Puerto Rican Steamed Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
As plain and easy as this recipe is, it was very very tasty. Probably the best rice I ever made, that's not really saying much but... you know. I did accidentally add too much salt to it (way too much), but it still tasted yummy. The good thing is that I have all these things in my pantry. With this economy, I can't afford to cook gourmet meals, so this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
really enjoyed making rice this way. rice water boiled away quickly so i added some more water to it. it did stick to the bottom of the pan but not as badly as it could have without the added water. just scraped the rice off the pan and stirred it in with the rest. tasted very nice. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I've been making rice for about 30 years and this was truly the perfect rice. I only made 4 servings and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Lately I've been making my rice in a plastic microwave cooker and had forgotten how good really well cooked rice is. I'll always use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I wasn't a fan of this by itself, but then again, I'm usually not a fan of white rice. I threw some chicken (Cheddar Chicken) on top, and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Wow...the best rice I've ever made, in my opinion! Very tasty. I also made the sofrito and habichuelas from Fivebrigs recipe. They are cooking now, can't wait to taste them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Perfect Rice!!! Just like my mom used to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I cooked a roast in the slow-cooker and used the broth in place of 1/3 of the water. I cooked it in the rice cooker so I didn't have to watch it, turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I've made this quite a few times now with favorable reviews. I do the following changes. I use chicken broth or boullion cubes instead of regular water and after simmering for 25 minutes, stir from the bottom to "fluff", cover, and let steam an additional 10 to 15 minutes. The rice will separate better and it won't be as sticky and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Good rice, easy to make. What is calrose rice? I just used regular long grain rice and din't see anything called calrose rice in the stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States