Puerto Rican Steamed Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Thank you for posting this simple, awesome recipe for fool-proof steamed rice! I now have the perfect complement for all my island dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MajsKitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Added fresh cracked sea salt, oil, fresh cracked pepper, cumin, and chili powder to water before boiling. Let boil then added 2 cups of rice. Turned out great when combined with Carne Guisada and Habichuelas Guisadas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe never fails. Even with changes to the serving size. It is just like Abuelitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This rice is so great....it made me feel like I was back in PR! My only complaint is that it sticks to the pan really bad but I think it is totally worth it for the rice! Awesome tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapetersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
didnt change a thing...followed recipe to a tee......its the only rice recipe i use....awesome..thanks...:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
It's okay. The bottom turned out crispy. I took the lid off for a few seconds while steaming to check the rice. Mught have been a bad move. I'll try again some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
GREAT RECIPE! I used long grain rice (that is what I had). I used to get the best steamed rice from a deli in St. Thomas, USVI and this recipe tastes just like it! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
My family loves this rice. Even my picky 2 year old daughter loves to pair this rice with bistec. I just add a little minced garlic to the oil and it comes out perfect!!! Also great with porkchops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
As plain and easy as this recipe is, it was very very tasty. Probably the best rice I ever made, that's not really saying much but... you know. I did accidentally add too much salt to it (way too much), but it still tasted yummy. The good thing is that I have all these things in my pantry. With this economy, I can't afford to cook gourmet meals, so this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
really enjoyed making rice this way. rice water boiled away quickly so i added some more water to it. it did stick to the bottom of the pan but not as badly as it could have without the added water. just scraped the rice off the pan and stirred it in with the rest. tasted very nice. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States