Puerto Rican Steamed Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe!! I have the hardest time making my rice come out with texture, Mine is usually a sticky mushy mess but this recipe produces a great flavorful rice with amazing texture! My Puerto Rican husband even approved! The only thing I did differently was add a bit of Adobo, Otherwise I followed this recipe to the letter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is THE best and EASIEST rice I have ever tasted...can't wait to make it again. THANK you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIADAMIANI
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Thank you for posting this simple, awesome recipe for fool-proof steamed rice! I now have the perfect complement for all my island dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MajsKitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Added fresh cracked sea salt, oil, fresh cracked pepper, cumin, and chili powder to water before boiling. Let boil then added 2 cups of rice. Turned out great when combined with Carne Guisada and Habichuelas Guisadas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe never fails. Even with changes to the serving size. It is just like Abuelitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This rice is so great....it made me feel like I was back in PR! My only complaint is that it sticks to the pan really bad but I think it is totally worth it for the rice! Awesome tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapetersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
didnt change a thing...followed recipe to a tee......its the only rice recipe i use....awesome..thanks...:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
It's okay. The bottom turned out crispy. I took the lid off for a few seconds while steaming to check the rice. Mught have been a bad move. I'll try again some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
GREAT RECIPE! I used long grain rice (that is what I had). I used to get the best steamed rice from a deli in St. Thomas, USVI and this recipe tastes just like it! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
My family loves this rice. Even my picky 2 year old daughter loves to pair this rice with bistec. I just add a little minced garlic to the oil and it comes out perfect!!! Also great with porkchops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States