Puerto Rican Shepherd Pie (Pastelon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was incredible! I had no knowledge of this recipe going into making this dish (the ingredients just sounded unusual enough, and I love a Cottage Pie), so I didn't know til after the fact that "Pastelon" is a lasagna w/ the plaintains as the noodle. (Otherwise I would've followed the recipe more accurately and cut them in lengths, rather than in rounds.) I think the homemade sofrito is one of the things that really made this meal special. I took a big spoonful of the meat while it was simmering and thought I'd died and gone to heaven. As far as the layering of the dish went, I used an 8X8 pyrex, did 1/2 the plantains (again, mine were fried in rounds) 3 eggs beaten w/ Adobo, the full 1 lb. sofrito/meat, 1 can green beans, the remaining plantains (of which total, I only used 2 -- next time I will definitely use more plantains, and, *bonks self on head* cut them correctly), and 3 more eggs beaten w/ Adobo. When I made the sofrito, I had enough leftover to freeze about 5 ice cubes' worth for another night. And I'm already anxious for that other night to come b/c I plan on making Leticia's recipe again! (Btw, my name's Ticia, so that made this recipe stand out all the more.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I have made this with just the meat cooked with sofrito and sazon, and the sweet plantains fried and layered like it says. Even simply made, this is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QCiowamiss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I saw a version of this recipe on a spanish cooking show, forgot to write down the ingredients so I found this instead. My family and I loved it! I did omit the cilantro and used dried parsley instead of fresh(didn't have any). I also layered this dish like a lasagna(on the bottom a layer of fried plantains, then egg mixture, then I added monterey jack cheese, then the meat and green beans, then another layer of fried plantains, egg mixture, and I topped it off with another layer of cheese). Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csantare

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Very good!!! It was not hard to make at all and the sweetness from the plantains add such great flavor. Will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
yummy! i love pastelon!! I have my abuela recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Nueva, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was great!! Just like mom usto make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
very authentic taste!!! My family couldn't get enough.I only had 4 ripe (almost black) plantain, and 3 eggs and no green beans but the rest of the measurements were the same. Also, just out of habit when making puerto rican beef recipes, I added about 1/2 cup tomato sauce to meat mixture and simmered on low for 30 minutes before layering. I honestly cant see me making this as written with 8 eggs..the 3 were enough for us.thanks for a great comforting dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe was ok. Totally edible but not as authentic as I'd prefer. My mom has been making this for years. Although her recipes differs. Personally, the secret is in the "sofrito". My mother usually makes sofrito in large batches and freezes it in ice cube trays. Once they're frozen, she pops them into large ziplocs. This way, you can use as little or as much as you'd like without fear of spoiling the batch. The plantains should be as ripe as possible & cut lengthwise for best results. My husbands Italian family LOVES Pastelon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
It should be noted that the plantains should be VERY ripe, the softer the better. The next time I'll probably use chorizo instead of ground beef, and I used frozen green beans (sauteed in a little olive oil and fresh garlic) instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States