Puerto Rican Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Absolutely delicious!!! BUT, something was missing...I tried this recipe once before and it was great. But the second time around I addded ONE tablespoon of white vinegar to the garlic-oregano paste mixture and that DID IT! The vinegar added an ever so slight tanginess to the meat which blended wonderfully with the garlic and oregano flavors. Try it, your taste buds will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This recipe reminds me of Christmas Eve family gatherings thrown by my parents!! Excellent. I added 1 tablespoon of white vinegar (as per my parents' way of cooking it). I didn't change any of the ingredients but I have a great way of cooking it that I adapted from my parents. The pork should be cooked 1/2 hour per pound (10 pounds = 5 hours)--Cook with the fat side down in a covered roasting pan for the first half of the cooking time, then uncover and cook with the fat side up for the second half of the cooking time. It'll turn out moist, very well cooked (which is extremely important when cooking pork!) and the fat side will be nice and crunchy, which, coming from a Puerto Rican family myself is the part that most people covet!! Enjoy everyone, and THANK YOU for an awesome adaptation of a family staple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
We're garlic lovers, so we loved this pork! I used a 6 1/2 lb. fresh picnic instead of a whole shoulder, and cut the skin off before preparing and cooking. I cut the seasonings in half because of using a smaller cut, and used only about 2 teaspoons of salt because the amount called for sounded like too much. I used dried oregano and it was fine. The timing is not clear in the recipe, but I found I needed to bake my smaller roast about 2 hrs at 425, then I let it sit, covered, out of the oven another hour before slicing. I was afraid it wouldn't brown by cooking it covered, but it did brown somewhat and yet stayed moist. I'm looking forward to the leftovers for sandwiche tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Què Rico! I made this for Sunday dinner and it was wonderful. I did not use pernil-I used a 2 pound pork loin roast because it was just my husband and I! I used all the ingredients for the rub except I scaled them down a bit: 4 cloves garlic, 3 teaspoons salt, 3 teaspoons pepper, 2 teaspoons oregano, 1-2 tablespoons olive oil and I used the advice of Latinacook and added 1 tablespoon of white vinegar. Delicioso! I served it with rice and some calabaza-it is fall after all! Great recipe Kenny! Gracias!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Very authentic taste. I also use some white vinegar and I make enough of the mixture to rub it outside of the roast as well. Lately I've been frying yucca instead of just boiling it. I cut the yucca in sticks, boil until cooked through and then fry them until golden and crispy outside. I sprinkle the yucca with garlic salt and then serve it all next to arroz con gandules. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
It was so delicious it's almost too easy!! I added the tbsp of vinegar but I know it would have been just as good without so don't stress that part. I too substituted adobo for the salt & pepper (equal portion substitution) and used minced garlic. Rubbed the leftover paste all over. EVERYONE loved this recipe!!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This spicy, moist, and succulant meat is absolutely delicious. We couldn't stop eating it, even long after our meal was over. It tasted like it was actually roasted on a spit. I roasted it in a stoneware baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Used the suggestion to add the white vinegar. This was fantastic. DH heartily approved and will definitely make again. [update] This recipe works very well in a crock pot too. 1 hour on high and then low until 170oF internal. (sorry, don't recall how long that was).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was a wonderful dish. I made this for a baby shower and was so worried that it wouldn't turn out but everyone loved it and wanted to take some home to share with their husbands. I did add vinegar to the garlic paste, I also added a cup of chicken broth to the roasting pan and I uncovered the roast on the last 1/2 hour to give in a golden color. I also selected a pork roast with the skin on and it turned out delicious with tons of flavor and tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I was having a large birthday party for my son and wanted a unique main dish that could feed a lot of people. I tried this recipe, and used the suggestion of adding a little vinegar to the garlic paste as other reviewers had done. IT WAS AWESOME! Everyone loved it and since the party I've been getting calls for the recipe. this is a very economical way to feed a lot of people. The 20 servings cost about $15 to make. GREAT RECIPE! update: I have made this recipe several times since the birthday party. It's my go-to pork recipe! Want delicious pulled pork sandwiches or pork tacos? Put the roast in the slow cooker all day, and then use two forks to shred the meat..... AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States