Puerto Rican Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was excellent!!! I followed Elizabeth's advice because it is also only my husband and I. I used 2T of Garlic powder instead of cloves. I served it with white rice and green olives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Què Rico! I made this for Sunday dinner and it was wonderful. I did not use pernil-I used a 2 pound pork loin roast because it was just my husband and I! I used all the ingredients for the rub except I scaled them down a bit: 4 cloves garlic, 3 teaspoons salt, 3 teaspoons pepper, 2 teaspoons oregano, 1-2 tablespoons olive oil and I used the advice of Latinacook and added 1 tablespoon of white vinegar. Delicioso! I served it with rice and some calabaza-it is fall after all! Great recipe Kenny! Gracias!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I don't know what's so Puerto Rican about this recipe, cuz us italians have been making it like this for ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Very authentic taste. I also use some white vinegar and I make enough of the mixture to rub it outside of the roast as well. Lately I've been frying yucca instead of just boiling it. I cut the yucca in sticks, boil until cooked through and then fry them until golden and crispy outside. I sprinkle the yucca with garlic salt and then serve it all next to arroz con gandules. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
It was so delicious it's almost too easy!! I added the tbsp of vinegar but I know it would have been just as good without so don't stress that part. I too substituted adobo for the salt & pepper (equal portion substitution) and used minced garlic. Rubbed the leftover paste all over. EVERYONE loved this recipe!!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This roast is delicious! It tastes so much like the one my grandmother usd to cook! The only change I made to this recipe was I added half a cup of Adobo all purpose seasoning with pepper instead of the 1/4 cup of salt and 1/4 cup of pepper. It took me oover 5 hours to cook my 8 pound picnic roast. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Excellent recipe. I also added the vinegar for a little kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHABBA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This is also the way I make this dish with a few differences. First I rub the pork with lemon juice before seasoning. After seasoning with mixture, I rub it with Goya Sazon (with culantro Y Achiote).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Wow, this was wonderful..only compliments from my husband and the kids. I also used the "extra" paste to rub on the outside of the roast and found it added great flavour. Thank you...this is very much a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This was an easy and delicious dish---reminded me of the island!!! I had some of the oregano mixture left over and rubbed it all over the outside of the roast for extra flavor! Thanks for sharing. We will definitely prepare this again. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States