Puerto Rican Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
might make again, but next time I will marinate this for a few hours, the outside tasted good, but this middle was plain. Im not a fan of pork, but I had to have a bite, it looked great coming out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was amazingly delicious. I followed a reviewer's recommendation and added a tablespoon of vinegar and it was so good. The outside was a bit salty but that allowed the inside to be moist. I served mashed potatoes instead of yucca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I sauteed some onions and garlic in oil to put on top of the Yucca along with some salt, paprika, and herb mixture. This blended well with some Yellow Rice I made that contained onion, garlic, and saffron. I think next time I will include a little of the paste spices from the pork on the rice as well. The flavors of all the dishes blended well together and made an absolute "Party in your Mouth".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This recipe reminds me of Christmas Eve family gatherings thrown by my parents!! Excellent. I added 1 tablespoon of white vinegar (as per my parents' way of cooking it). I didn't change any of the ingredients but I have a great way of cooking it that I adapted from my parents. The pork should be cooked 1/2 hour per pound (10 pounds = 5 hours)--Cook with the fat side down in a covered roasting pan for the first half of the cooking time, then uncover and cook with the fat side up for the second half of the cooking time. It'll turn out moist, very well cooked (which is extremely important when cooking pork!) and the fat side will be nice and crunchy, which, coming from a Puerto Rican family myself is the part that most people covet!! Enjoy everyone, and THANK YOU for an awesome adaptation of a family staple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This roast was FANTASTIC!!!! Started by seasoning with Paula Deans "house seasoning" (1 cup Kosher salt, 1/4 cup garlic pwdr and 1/4 cup black pepper) and browning in large dutch oven on top of the stove on med/high heat. Cut the salt and pepper in half and increased the garlic to 10-12 cloves. Roasted at 325 for about 4 hours but determined when it was done with a meat thermometer. This one is definitely a keeper and will be on the table with our other meats on Christmas Day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metsfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was a very good pork roast. I used a 5lb shoulder, therefore used half the amount of salt and pepper with the full amount of garlic. I did add the vinegar. I could have lightened the salt and pepper a bit more, it was quite salty. Overall though, the meat was tender and juicy and very seasoned. Just to note, I followed the recipe as far as preparing the meat, but slow roasted it on indirect heat on my gas grill. I wrapped it in foil for the first hour and then opened the foil for the second hour and a half. It was cooked perfectly. In the warmer months, I use the grill for many roasts, turkeys, etc using that method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I made this dish for 2 by using a 2 lb. pork roast. I cut back the ingredients accordingly, but I wish I had cut down the salt even more. I cooked the 2 lb. pork roast for 40 minutes and it turned out perfectly. It was so moist and flavorful. I think we're going to serve it at our Florribean themed wedding reception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Sorry, but this was just OK for me and my hubby. Added broth, carrots and onion as others suggested and again just ok, won't make again. Too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was delicious and easy. I cooked a small piece of pork which took 1 hour to cook. I added the white vinegar as others have suggested. I would make this again. Very flavorful. Even my picky son ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
We really liked this recipe. We used a 4 lb. roast - it took 3 hours to cook. We added the tablespoon of white vinegar as others recommended, and it was very good. We had extra marinade, so we rubbed it all over the roast for extra flavor. Also added baby carrots and onion wedges, along with chicken broth in the bottom of the pan. We liked the yucca also - had a very similar flavor to potatoes. We will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States