Puerto Rican Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
UMMMM! This is delish! I used an 8+ lb. pork picnic. I added 1 T white vinegar. I used jarred garlic and dried oregano since that was what I had on hand. I baked at 425 for 2 hrs, fat side down, turned it, and continued baking for another 2 hrs, fat side up. I used my enameled cast iron covered dutch oven which really retains heat and moisture. Suberb! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was really good but I don't think cutting the roast got the flavor into the meat. Next time I will do a full split down the middle and fill the inside, then cover the outside. Very good and will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Cut the seasonings down since I only had a 4lb roast. Cooked for about 1/2 hr per lb and was wonderful! Baked first with fat on bottom then the last 1/2 uncovered and baked with fat on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent, tasty recipe! I scaled it down for our family's needs. I used a lean pork sirloin roast and served without the yucca roots. It was a huge hit! One tip is to make sure you transfer all of the juices from the raw roast into the pan for cooking. It really helps to keep the roast moist. If you use bottled minced garlic (NOT the dehydrated variety), you can mix the ingredients together by hand to make the paste, which will leave you with more seasonings for your roast. In addition to putting the paste in the holes, be sure to rub it over all surfaces of the roast, as shown in the picture. My husband, who is not Puerto Rican, said this is the best food he has ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I halved this recipe (5 lb roast) and added a tbs of cider vinegar to the paste as another user suggested. With the leftover paste, I covered the entire roast (like a rub) and it turned out EXCELLENT. Took it to a potluck dinner and it was a major hit!! I wanted to jazz up the yucca so I mixed melted butter, chopped garlic fresh oregano and pepper - blended them all together and drizzled it over the fork tender yucca. DELISH - and a great compliment to the roast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I used a 3-4lb pork shoulder instead of a picnic roast and did as suggested and used Adobo rather than salt and a tablespoon of vinegar. Because I used a smaller roast, I reduced the amount of seasoning. This was really good and moist. Every one loved it. I used a prepared yellow rice and mixed vegetables as sides. Plan on having sandwiches with the rest. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is almost the exact recipe I use! But I replace the black pepper with a packot of Sazon which adds more flavor and a beautiful color and mix ingredients in a bowl. Around (or slightly less) 1/4 of cup of salt is perfect, but make sure to make plenty of slits to stuff the salt/garlic mixture in or some pieces of meat will be too salty. The only thing I do differently is the cooking method. I cook the pork fat side up in a 400º oven for one hour, then reduce temperature to 300º for about 4 hours. The meat comes out SUPER tender this way :). Also, if you want super tasty/tender meat, rub the night before and wrap in plastic wrap. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Photo by Mightymiri
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Great recipe! My family raved that it was the best lechon they've ever had. I added a teaspoon of vinegar per other's comments. I baked it at 350 degrees for two hours and then put it up to 425, until the internal temp reached 170. Very tender and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This brings the pork roast to a new level. I multiple the recipe times 5 and use on a steamship pork roast- between 80-100 pounds. We serve at all special occasions at the ranch and recommend it to all our guests. i do not make the yuccas for these large meals, but otherwise follow the recipe. I do use our large smoker to cook the meat. We cook it between 10 and 12 hours at 180 degrees. This is a winnner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Grandview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States