Puerto Rican Meat Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
These are a big hit at our house. I usually roll these up eggroll fashion as I had problems with the wrappers tearing at first. Also makes them easy for the kids to eat. In addition to draining the ground beef well, be sure to have the oil hot enough when you start frying or they will soak up too much. [10/1/04] These are also really good using ground chicken instead of ground beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
These were great. Tasted alot like the inside of empanadas which are my favorite. Everyone loved them. I had to cut the cilantro in half. That was just way to much cilantro. I love cilantro but come on. and make sure the onions are chopped finely otherwise the taste is way different. I made that mistake the 2nd time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Although this was very time consuming, my kids LOVED them!! I made a bunch and froze them for quick snacks & meals on the go. I also used some of the meat mixture tossed with noodles and sour cream the following night for dinner. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
These are Yummy! Husband really loved these. He couldn't stop eatting them and told me to make again. Thanks for sharing your family recipe Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I myself am Puertorican. I love to make all dishes and this one was outstanding. I miss cooking like this. This is a great and fun thing to make and eat. Everyone Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
I really loved these, my husband who is Puerto Rican liked them but, he thought they were too saucy & greasy. That would be my fault be sure to drain beef REALLY well! Overall they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
These turned out very well. All of my boys, 18 months, 3 years, and 5 years, tried them and loved them. My neighbor smelled me cooking and stopped by to try what smelled so good! They both loved them too. We did not care for them as much plain, but dipped in sour cream and salsa, they were divine. We don't fry often, but next time, we will surely do this again. We used wonton squares instead of egg rolls. We have fun filling the squares with different cheese and frying them also. Those would compliment this recipe well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
This recipe was so great! My Dh and son loved it so much. I did not think this was a time consuming recipe. It was easy to make and my 3 year old even helped me stuff the egg rolls, he thought that was great. We served them with sour cream guacamole and some mexican rice and they were alomost all eaten up!Next time i will add a little more garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This was delicious! I made it for friends and everyone loved it. I added some diced tomatoes to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
We thought these were great and my husband especially loved them. My egg roll wrappers were too thin for me to wrap them in traingles so I had to improvise a bit. Next time, I will use the goya discs (which I also saw in the same freezer section) as others had suggested. I served these up with Mexican rice - excellent meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States