Puerto Rican Meat Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
this recipe works best when it is not egg roll wrappers that are used. Do it the old fashioned way, with spanish ingredients, like goya wrappers that come frozen and they will come out much better. seal the edges with a fork, .. it also tastes good with cheese tucked inside, or for vegetarians cheese, beans or broccoli..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
good basic picadillo recipe. Use the goya yellow discs instead of egg rolls fold them in half, use fork to close them and fry! sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
These are a big hit at our house. I usually roll these up eggroll fashion as I had problems with the wrappers tearing at first. Also makes them easy for the kids to eat. In addition to draining the ground beef well, be sure to have the oil hot enough when you start frying or they will soak up too much. [10/1/04] These are also really good using ground chicken instead of ground beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
A few people mentioned substituting the egg roll wrappers (and I agree after all this is a Puerto Rican dish) for Goya's "frozen wrap or yellow thing". The formal name is an EMPANADA. That's the name you should look for when shopping. Goya Tampas para Empanadas are frozen turnover patties. Put the mix in the middle, fold, and then take your fork and seal the edges with it leaving little fork imprints along the edges. Beef is very plain tasting, don't cheat yourself....season your meat liberally with garlic powder, sazon, seasoning salt, adobo and, if on hand, you can never go wrong w/ sofrito. Be creative and add what you like because you really can't go wrong w/ this one....it's only beef in a patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
It was time cumsuming but they were GREAT!! But being PuertoRican myself almost every dish HAS TO HAVE SA-SON! I added just one package of Sa-son with the onions and bell pepper to lock in the flavor. After I drained the meat I added Basil, Garlic Poweder, and Chili Poweder to taste! It was WONDERFUL!! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE
Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Although this was very time consuming, my kids LOVED them!! I made a bunch and froze them for quick snacks & meals on the go. I also used some of the meat mixture tossed with noodles and sour cream the following night for dinner. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This is a great starter recipe... But I personally made a few changes.. You definitely should use the frozen empanada dough discs. They are made for meat fillings and are awesome. You should use a packet of Sa-zon and I also added a little cumin.. I added some shredded cheese when i wrapped them and only put about half of the cilantro and it was plenty. (and i love cilantro) But overall they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This recipe, if followed exactly, has too strong of a cilantro taste. Over powering even. So I altered the recipe slightly and only added 1/4 cup of cilantro and added 1/3 cup celery to it. It turned out great then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
These were great. Tasted alot like the inside of empanadas which are my favorite. Everyone loved them. I had to cut the cilantro in half. That was just way to much cilantro. I love cilantro but come on. and make sure the onions are chopped finely otherwise the taste is way different. I made that mistake the 2nd time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Amazing!!!! I used less cliantro, added some sa-zon and cumin and used the frozen Goya discs. The filling was so flavorful these made great empanadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States