Puerto Rican Meat Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was a hit at our girls day cook out!!! Everyone was so supicious about how they would taste so, I told my girlfriend if they didn't taste good I would tell everyone that she made them :) But, once I started hearing the comments, I quickly said I made them..I added a little lite salt, pepper and sazon for taste. They were so good, I had to ccut them in half because they were going so fast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Amazing!!!! I used less cliantro, added some sa-zon and cumin and used the frozen Goya discs. The filling was so flavorful these made great empanadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These were sooo good!!!! I made them last minute for my friend's surprise Bday party and they were a hit! I only did one thing different and that was to add a cup of the cilantro instead of the 1 1/2. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Good filing . but take the time to make the dough and press yourself... which really warrants making alot of them at one time. Freeze them and then you have an instant snack or dinner with a quick fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by JP
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These turned out great! I took some of the other reviewers' advice, and made a few adjustments. I cut down quite a bit on the cilantro. I added cumin, oregano, chilli powder, fresh basil and a splash of lime juice to the meat, once drained. I also used the Goya frozen Empanada discs instead of egg roll wrappers. Very time consuming, but well worth it. Goes great with a side of yellow rice and friend plantains. I will definitely be making these again. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I found that the egg roll wrappers were not too great for this recipe. There was also an overpowering cilantro taste and the tomato paste should be mixed with a teaspoon of sugar for my palet. A little Orégano brujo (oregano), less cilantro, a patti dough recipe and sugar would please my palet more. I'd hate to rate this as we all have different tastes however Allrecipies is prompting to do so. I'll rate it on the other ratings as I'd hate to bring your rate down just because I'm different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sneakyteaky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I used empanada dough, these are good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Good flavor but needs a little something...maybe a dipping sauce? I used wonton wrappers which held together nicely. My kids (ages 10, 13 & 16) LOVED them so I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Zita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This is a great starter recipe... But I personally made a few changes.. You definitely should use the frozen empanada dough discs. They are made for meat fillings and are awesome. You should use a packet of Sa-zon and I also added a little cumin.. I added some shredded cheese when i wrapped them and only put about half of the cilantro and it was plenty. (and i love cilantro) But overall they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
A few people mentioned substituting the egg roll wrappers (and I agree after all this is a Puerto Rican dish) for Goya's "frozen wrap or yellow thing". The formal name is an EMPANADA. That's the name you should look for when shopping. Goya Tampas para Empanadas are frozen turnover patties. Put the mix in the middle, fold, and then take your fork and seal the edges with it leaving little fork imprints along the edges. Beef is very plain tasting, don't cheat yourself....season your meat liberally with garlic powder, sazon, seasoning salt, adobo and, if on hand, you can never go wrong w/ sofrito. Be creative and add what you like because you really can't go wrong w/ this one....it's only beef in a patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States