Puerto Rican Garlic Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I was really surprised that such a simple marinade could have so much flavor. I added the full amount of salt, but may cut it back next time. I used the marinade for steaks that we grilled. We only let the steaks marinade about an hour so I was even more surprised by the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Wow!! Thanks a bunch for this "keeper"!!!! I used a pound of pre-cut beef ("for stirfry") and marinated for about 4 hours. I poured all in a hot pan, cooked for a bit, drained off most of the liquid, then finished cooking. Served on plain mashed potatoes (because the meat is a little salty!) and with steamed broccoli. Got 5 stars from the Hubby!!!!!!!! :-) I also could have used the meat for fajitas too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I used Fivebrigs recipes in the past and none have ever failed me. Again this one's a keeper. I used this during Christmas for our 18 lb turkey, it was marvelous! I brined the turkey 2 days before cooking it, then made the marinade and added sazon to it, rubbed it all over the turkey (under all of it's skin and body cavity) fridged overnite until ready to roast. I put it in a turkey bag slowly cooked it at 300F for 3 hrs, during which time I rotated and basted it every HR. Once it was ready I opened the bag to let the turkey crisp a bit and it came out so perfect. No need to carve it with a knife. It literally fell off of the bone. It was so moist and tender, everyone loved it. MMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Delicious. Very flavorful. I marinaded 4 chicken thighs for 8 hours and cut the recipe to 3 servings. I cut down the pepper to about 3/4 a teaspoon (for 3 servings) and only had about 1 teaspoon of minced garlic (cuz I was out). It was a bit oily, but overall, exceptional taste and very easy. I baked it in the oven for 45 minutes at 350. Might add boiled baby carrots and potatoes next time around to soak up some of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Absolutely wonderful!!!! I make this with chicken breasts that I marinated for only 3 1/2 hours. I am making chicken pesto foccacia sandwiches, but this is so wonderful on it's own. Next time, I'll use this for chicken breasts all by themselves. I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
It is sooo delicious. I used it to marinate chicken and ribs, both overnight, and it added so much flavor to the meat. Great by itself and as a base for barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This marinade is delicious. I used it to marinade a 2lb flank steak. I though about doubling it, but left it as is...it marinated for6 hrs, and then I used the steak to make "flank steak pinwheels" from this site. This was so good! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Fantastic and so simple! We used this last night for our chicken for the grill (about 4 hours soaking) and loved it! It keeps the chicken very juicy and the flavor was excellent (and surprising for the very few ingredients). We will definitely use this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was delicious. I used it to marinade the 'Flank Steak Pinwheels" recipe on this website. It was a hit at our block party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I used this for grilling chicken breasts for a large crowd. I wanted something a little different than just regular grilled chicken. I was very pleased with the taste and how it stayed moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States