Puerto Rican Garlic Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Awesome! I have used this twice now to marinate flank steak and both times it came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Buen Provecho! Gracias Fivebrigs, this is excelente. I added sazon to this and prepped a whole chicken as if I were cooking a turkey and baked at 275-300 for 2+ hours until cooked and the chicken was moist(it fell off the bone)and had a wonderful flavor. I will surely use this again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
THIS MARINADE WAS PERFECT FOR OUR UNDERGROUND DEEP PIT WE DO FOR SPECIAL OCCASSIONS. IT'LL BE OUR SECRET RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Oh we wanted to be WOWed by this recipe sooo much, but it turned out bland. I tasted the marinade before adding the meat (a 1lb round steak that I marinated for 24hrs), and I thought it tasted great. But all the flavors got lost once the meat was grilled. IF I used this again, I'd doctor it with some dried herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Wow!! Thanks a bunch for this "keeper"!!!! I used a pound of pre-cut beef ("for stirfry") and marinated for about 4 hours. I poured all in a hot pan, cooked for a bit, drained off most of the liquid, then finished cooking. Served on plain mashed potatoes (because the meat is a little salty!) and with steamed broccoli. Got 5 stars from the Hubby!!!!!!!! :-) I also could have used the meat for fajitas too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I used Fivebrigs recipes in the past and none have ever failed me. Again this one's a keeper. I used this during Christmas for our 18 lb turkey, it was marvelous! I brined the turkey 2 days before cooking it, then made the marinade and added sazon to it, rubbed it all over the turkey (under all of it's skin and body cavity) fridged overnite until ready to roast. I put it in a turkey bag slowly cooked it at 300F for 3 hrs, during which time I rotated and basted it every HR. Once it was ready I opened the bag to let the turkey crisp a bit and it came out so perfect. No need to carve it with a knife. It literally fell off of the bone. It was so moist and tender, everyone loved it. MMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Delicious. Very flavorful. I marinaded 4 chicken thighs for 8 hours and cut the recipe to 3 servings. I cut down the pepper to about 3/4 a teaspoon (for 3 servings) and only had about 1 teaspoon of minced garlic (cuz I was out). It was a bit oily, but overall, exceptional taste and very easy. I baked it in the oven for 45 minutes at 350. Might add boiled baby carrots and potatoes next time around to soak up some of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Absolutely wonderful!!!! I make this with chicken breasts that I marinated for only 3 1/2 hours. I am making chicken pesto foccacia sandwiches, but this is so wonderful on it's own. Next time, I'll use this for chicken breasts all by themselves. I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
It is sooo delicious. I used it to marinate chicken and ribs, both overnight, and it added so much flavor to the meat. Great by itself and as a base for barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I was really surprised that such a simple marinade could have so much flavor. I added the full amount of salt, but may cut it back next time. I used the marinade for steaks that we grilled. We only let the steaks marinade about an hour so I was even more surprised by the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States