Puerto Rican Coquito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have a bottle of coquito that I used to compare this with. The bottle (bought from store) was quite a bit sweeter than this recipe, but the taste was spot on. I may add a little more sweetened condensed milk next time, but I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
First time making coquito I used this recipe everyone including my mother whom makes an incredible coquito loved it. They were shocked that I did not use eggs. Since Jan 2012 I have made 2 gallons. LOVE IT !!! Thanks---Muchas Gracias
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I followed Brownie1's directions with a few changes: I boil 3 cinnamon sticks in 3.5 cups water. I want to end up with 3 cups of cinnamon water so I add a bit more to account for evaporation. Topped it off with water to get a full 3 cups. Let it cool. Then put cinnamon water in blender w/1 can evap milk, 1 can condensed milk, 1 can coconut milk and 1 tsp vanilla extract the first time. The second time I tried with coconut cream and it was a bit too sweet so I then added a can of coconut milk and it was PERFECT! With just the coconut milk it was a bit too thin but with both the milk and cream, it was thicker and delicious. You can leave as is so the kids can enjoy as well and add rum to individual servings for the adults. Def serve on the rocks. My mom (born & raised in PR and JUST came home from winter break over there) declared it PERFECT so this is how I'll be making coquito from now on. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lilly
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
i just made this coqutio and omg it is so good make me think of my mami and my sisters i really miss them alot but thank you so much for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I used another reviewers tip of using water that I had boiled with cinnamon sticks and it turned out amazing. Very delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
There are many different ways to make Coquito, depending on where you lived in Puerto Rico, but this recipe came out just like I remember it tasting. Thank you for posting. It makes me homesick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
FABULOUS! With the advice of a co-worker from Puerto Rico, I added about a tablespoon of chocolate syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Easy,peasy!! Came out great! I used Anejo dark rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I've tried a few recipes and by far this is the best. I made it in 2009 and now in 2010.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I was so nervous at first to make this because of all the many recipes out there. With eggs, without, just 1 spice or many spices. I found this one to be easy and simple. I must say I did chage it up a bit but it still came out great! I may not be Puerto Rican but I know a good coquito when I taste it and thus one is spot on. Instead of the dark rum I used 1/2 a cup of coconut rum & 1/2 a cup of 151 rum. More kick but good flavors to hide it a bit. Because I didn't have get all of the right ingredients My second batch had 1 can of eveporated milk and 1 can of cream of coconut with the water, rum mix, cinnamon and pinch of salt. Still good but the first batch is better but combined, they are awesome! Thanks for the recipe. I'm going to be a coquito master, lol! But I'm serious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coquito

This tropical version of eggnog adds a festive touch at the holidays.

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Mai Tai

A tropical cocktail made with coconut rum and pineapple juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States