Puerto Rican Breakfast Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was interesting to me. Pretty good, but maybe to really love it you have to grow up eating it. I did add an egg, tempered with some of the hot custard toward the beginning of cooking. It tasted a little flavorless so I added more cinnamon and some vanilla extract. Reminds me a little of cream of wheat. It was a comforting way to use up some milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is really tasty as a dessert too! I've made it as is, with extra cornstarch, with cocoa, and adding butter to the end product, and I loved every version. Note to those who, like me, don't have the attention span to stir for half an hour: you can make this in the microwave. I used the method from the Hasty Chocolate Pudding recipe on this site. It takes me only 5min 30sec to make it that way which is way more realistic for me as I'm not a morning person. at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
First time making it and it was a hit! Thank you so much for the recipe. I don't usually have whole milk on hand so I made it with skim (1 1/2 cup) and heavy whipping cream (1/2 cup). Served with buttered toast and it was gone when I turned around. I did add a dash of vanilla as well. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJWood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Nice, it brought smiles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troubled Eggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Soooo happy I found this recipe ! As I was trying to fix a vanilla custard gone wrong it was reminding me of breakfast with my Puerto Rican Abuelita. My other grandmother was Cuban and didn't know about it.Or maybe it was" Grandma War Competition" LOL. One thing I can't do is use a real coconut like Abuela included. She had a arm like Derrick Jetter. Thanks Lu and the rest of you for bringing back a little bit of my childhood- G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yaya_77
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I could not have predicted how CREAMY this turned out. The texture is incredible. I did add an egg as other reviewers suggested. Delicious! I will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I did it exactly as recipe stated the first time. It tasted great, but who has the time to wait 20-30 minutes. Second time did as some suggested and I added the egg and done in about 15. I could live with that. The taste was not that far off from the original. Thank you. It reminded my husband and brother-in-law of when their mother used to make it for them as children on the Island (PR).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Omg this is so good!! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. Thanks for an awesome recipe. It reminds me of my childhood my Abuela use to make this. ????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I tried the recipe for two servings but ate the whole entire thing...100? delicioso
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The only one that I have done it it turned out just like Abuelita's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States