Puerto Rican Breakfast Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
My grandmother used to make this for me when I was little girl. I remember eating it on hot summer mornings in her covered portch with my father when we visited Puerto Rico. My father died when I was a teenager so I never got a chance to get his recipes. I've thought about this custard on and off for years and was delighted when I found it on allrecipes. I just made it with my 5-year-old daughter and we both loved it! I enjoy hot cereals but she turns her nose up to them so I was pleasantly surprised when she asked if we can make it tomorrow morning. Recipe is perfect! I wouldn't recommend changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
simple and delicous. also used an egg as part of the two cups of liquid, and added 1/2 tsp vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
AWESOME THANKS !!! I LOVE MAIZENA MOM GRANDMA AND EVERY PUERTO RICAN MAKES IT FOR BREAKFAST!!!! I CANT WAIT TO MAKE IT AGAIN!!! YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My 4 year old daughter just loved this recipe, she couldn't get enough. We added raisins once the custard was served to add a little more texture. This was a very easy dish to make, and will be used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC1893

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
mmmmm this was SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a tasty custard. I didn't use egg yolks, as some reviewers suggested, made a recipe as is, just used less sugar. Simple and tasty breakfast idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The recipe turned out great it only took about 10 minutes or so for it to thicken. This recipe reminded me of when my grandma use to make this for my brother and I; which in Puerto Rico we call it Maizena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I love Maizena (the name of this recipe). My Puerto Rican mother would make this for us and eating this as an adult now brings back good memories of my childhood. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
very good, i didn't change anything, will make this again soon, turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ocoee, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Thank you for posting this recipe. I grew up on this and want to make it for my kids. I never got it right till now! I actually cried because it reminded me so much of my grandma that I miss dearly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States