Puerto Rican Breakfast Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
It is even tastier and creamier if you add 1 egg yolk, whipped separately in a cup with some sugar until it turns fluffy and light-yellow in color. Then add to the egg mixture, 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1 tsp. of cinnamon, mixing well. Add some of the milk (can also use evaporated milk instead of whole milk) to the egg mixture, mixing well. To the egg and milk mixture, add your cornstarch mixing well and making sure all lumps are dissolved before pouring into your sauce pan. Then pour the remaining milk and sugar into your sauce pan stirring constantly. Salt is not necessary and should be optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
We (Chicagoans from Puerto Rico) call this Maizena. Really good breakfast; like eating hot cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is sooo good. I added 3 eggs and enough milk to make the 2 cups of liquid. Took less time to thicken also. I had day old cornbread which I popped in the micro with butter and served with the custard. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Thank you for posting this recipe. I grew up on this and want to make it for my kids. I never got it right till now! I actually cried because it reminded me so much of my grandma that I miss dearly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I'm not Puerto Rican, but this is the same recipe I grew up on from my grandmother in Nebraska. The only difference is after thickening, we would add a little butter to make it a little richer, then serve it over toast and sprinkle with the cinnamon. The best breakfast in all the world!! Talk about your "comfort food".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
very good, i didn't change anything, will make this again soon, turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ocoee, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Glad I found this recipe - I was clearly adding too much cornstarch to mine. This recipe is really good and almost exactly what I grew up with in my Puerto Rican household. A couple of additions/substitutions that makes this Maizena (as my family calls it) exactly what I remember - about a tablespoon of butter which will add to the creaminess, and instead of 2 cups of milk, add 1 1/2 cups of milk and 1/2 cup of coconut milk. The light taste of the coconut milk really puts this over the top and exactly as I remember growing up! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
simple and delicous. also used an egg as part of the two cups of liquid, and added 1/2 tsp vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Tasty & different. Yummy with equal parts white & brown sugar too. Will share recipe with others / make it again. I'd consider adding: 1 egg or 2 to increase protein, and perhaps some cut up seasonal fruit before or after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My 4 year old daughter just loved this recipe, she couldn't get enough. We added raisins once the custard was served to add a little more texture. This was a very easy dish to make, and will be used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC1893

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States