Puerto Rican Breakfast Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Delicious, simple and quick. Just what I wanted to use up some milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASTET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I love Maizena (the name of this recipe). My Puerto Rican mother would make this for us and eating this as an adult now brings back good memories of my childhood. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The recipe turned out great it only took about 10 minutes or so for it to thicken. This recipe reminded me of when my grandma use to make this for my brother and I; which in Puerto Rico we call it Maizena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a tasty custard. I didn't use egg yolks, as some reviewers suggested, made a recipe as is, just used less sugar. Simple and tasty breakfast idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Everytime my grandmother comes to visit us from P.R., she makes this for us. Funny how I never bothered to ask her for the recipe, but this one is just like it. Delicious!! Simple. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VETTY430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is sooo good. I added 3 eggs and enough milk to make the 2 cups of liquid. Took less time to thicken also. I had day old cornbread which I popped in the micro with butter and served with the custard. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Tasty & different. Yummy with equal parts white & brown sugar too. Will share recipe with others / make it again. I'd consider adding: 1 egg or 2 to increase protein, and perhaps some cut up seasonal fruit before or after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
mmmmm this was SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
We (Chicagoans from Puerto Rico) call this Maizena. Really good breakfast; like eating hot cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My 4 year old daughter just loved this recipe, she couldn't get enough. We added raisins once the custard was served to add a little more texture. This was a very easy dish to make, and will be used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC1893

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States