Puerto Rican Breakfast Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
My grandmother used to make this for me when I was little girl. I remember eating it on hot summer mornings in her covered portch with my father when we visited Puerto Rico. My father died when I was a teenager so I never got a chance to get his recipes. I've thought about this custard on and off for years and was delighted when I found it on allrecipes. I just made it with my 5-year-old daughter and we both loved it! I enjoy hot cereals but she turns her nose up to them so I was pleasantly surprised when she asked if we can make it tomorrow morning. Recipe is perfect! I wouldn't recommend changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
It is even tastier and creamier if you add 1 egg yolk, whipped separately in a cup with some sugar until it turns fluffy and light-yellow in color. Then add to the egg mixture, 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1 tsp. of cinnamon, mixing well. Add some of the milk (can also use evaporated milk instead of whole milk) to the egg mixture, mixing well. To the egg and milk mixture, add your cornstarch mixing well and making sure all lumps are dissolved before pouring into your sauce pan. Then pour the remaining milk and sugar into your sauce pan stirring constantly. Salt is not necessary and should be optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Just like Abuelita used to make! The secret is to make sure you have it over the heat until it's thick, otherwise you'll have a soupy result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Delicious, simple and quick. Just what I wanted to use up some milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASTET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I love Maizena (the name of this recipe). My Puerto Rican mother would make this for us and eating this as an adult now brings back good memories of my childhood. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The recipe turned out great it only took about 10 minutes or so for it to thicken. This recipe reminded me of when my grandma use to make this for my brother and I; which in Puerto Rico we call it Maizena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a tasty custard. I didn't use egg yolks, as some reviewers suggested, made a recipe as is, just used less sugar. Simple and tasty breakfast idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Everytime my grandmother comes to visit us from P.R., she makes this for us. Funny how I never bothered to ask her for the recipe, but this one is just like it. Delicious!! Simple. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VETTY430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is sooo good. I added 3 eggs and enough milk to make the 2 cups of liquid. Took less time to thicken also. I had day old cornbread which I popped in the micro with butter and served with the custard. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Tasty & different. Yummy with equal parts white & brown sugar too. Will share recipe with others / make it again. I'd consider adding: 1 egg or 2 to increase protein, and perhaps some cut up seasonal fruit before or after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States