Puerto Rican Breakfast Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Made the recipe with the ingredients you suggested, no eggs required! I grew up in a Puerto Rican household and my newly-wed hubby is white boy who loves spanish food! I'm a terrible cook, but this site has helped me improve! We both enjoyed your Maizena recipe! I only had to whisk it for about 5 minutes and it came out to the consistency that I remembered as a kid. Thanks again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great with a smooth, creamy texture and delicious flavor. I've tried adding a little vanilla extract sometimes (about 1/8 tsp) and I like it that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
four and a half star recipe. added 1 egg yolk, 1 tblsp. butter, and some vanilla. would add either more vanilla or more cinnamon.it set much earlier than 25 minutes that i thought i burned it! it was semi flavorless so add some more vanilla or more cinnamon, but overall a good breakfast recipe. make sure you do not use a nonstick pan or you will wreck the nonstick coating when you are whisking it. may make this again (50% chance).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheflucas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is DELICIOUS. It reminds me of my mom's Maizena. I loved this as a kid,and turns out,as an adult,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike Córdova
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Really good recipe and delicious. mmmmm =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Córdova

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Great Recipe! In order to make sure you don't have lumpy custard when putting your cornstarch in, put your cornstarch in a separate little bowl, add some milk in it, and whisk with a fork until combined and no lumps... Makes perfect smooth custard every time. I added cut up Granny Apples and some oatmeal... very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I'm not Puerto Rican, but this is the same recipe I grew up on from my grandmother in Nebraska. The only difference is after thickening, we would add a little butter to make it a little richer, then serve it over toast and sprinkle with the cinnamon. The best breakfast in all the world!! Talk about your "comfort food".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made this exactly by the recipe and it turned out perfect! I was happy to find this recipe and it was easy. My Rican husband loved it! I'm keeping this for future use. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vilhelmiina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
this was great my kids 2, 4, and 6 have never really had custard. they loved it and it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
AWESOME THANKS !!! I LOVE MAIZENA MOM GRANDMA AND EVERY PUERTO RICAN MAKES IT FOR BREAKFAST!!!! I CANT WAIT TO MAKE IT AGAIN!!! YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States