Puerto Rican Breakfast Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Maiezena, oh my, I ate this all the time growing up, made it for my girls as well....filling and tasty luv it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chichi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This was like eatable velvet! It was soooooooo creamy. I did make some minor changes: I used baker's sugar instead of regular, lactose free milk, and added a pat of butter to the custard when I served it. Thanks Lu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Just when the doctor ordered. This made me feel like a kid again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Man, what a recipe! It took me two batches not to burn it, but i still got some chunks :/ . but hey im only 14 years old! NOT easy to make, but when your done its a relief. thx for the recipe girl(;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Glad I found this recipe - I was clearly adding too much cornstarch to mine. This recipe is really good and almost exactly what I grew up with in my Puerto Rican household. A couple of additions/substitutions that makes this Maizena (as my family calls it) exactly what I remember - about a tablespoon of butter which will add to the creaminess, and instead of 2 cups of milk, add 1 1/2 cups of milk and 1/2 cup of coconut milk. The light taste of the coconut milk really puts this over the top and exactly as I remember growing up! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Made the recipe with the ingredients you suggested, no eggs required! I grew up in a Puerto Rican household and my newly-wed hubby is white boy who loves spanish food! I'm a terrible cook, but this site has helped me improve! We both enjoyed your Maizena recipe! I only had to whisk it for about 5 minutes and it came out to the consistency that I remembered as a kid. Thanks again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great with a smooth, creamy texture and delicious flavor. I've tried adding a little vanilla extract sometimes (about 1/8 tsp) and I like it that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
four and a half star recipe. added 1 egg yolk, 1 tblsp. butter, and some vanilla. would add either more vanilla or more cinnamon.it set much earlier than 25 minutes that i thought i burned it! it was semi flavorless so add some more vanilla or more cinnamon, but overall a good breakfast recipe. make sure you do not use a nonstick pan or you will wreck the nonstick coating when you are whisking it. may make this again (50% chance).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheflucas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is DELICIOUS. It reminds me of my mom's Maizena. I loved this as a kid,and turns out,as an adult,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike32
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Really good recipe and delicious. mmmmm =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States