Pueblo Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
My husband loved it. I loved it. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
We love this stew. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was really great! And it even was only 9pts on my WW diet! I made a few changes. I used chicken breasts since i didn't have pork. I used about 1/2 cup of frozen corn, no celery. I wanted some Tomatillo flavor in it as I saw in another recipe, so I used a 7oz can of Chile Verde Sauce along with 2 cans of green chiles. I left out the cumin since it had enough flavor. I only wish I could have 2 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This tasted alot like Chicken Tortilla Soup to us. I cubed the pork and put everything in the crockpot on low for 10 hours. If I were to make it again I would definitely cut the amount of meat in half. 2 pounds is waay too much for our preferences! We topped with finely shredded sharp cheddar and served with "Grandmothers Buttermilk Cornbread" from this site which was a good accompaniment. Also, this had more of a soup (brothy) texture as opposed to what we perceive to be a stew as the recipe name implies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I used rotel tomatoes in place of fresh & this was very bland. Maybe it's supposed to be that way?? I ended up throwing in more cumin, oregano, & some chicken base & added a can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Was very good. I added more stock, extra potatoes, a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes, a can of great northern beans, 16 oz frozen corn at the very end, garlic, a carrot celery. I sauteed mirepoix and pork, threw in garlic and spices last minute and added the stock and tomatoes and cooked for an hour. then last half hour added potatoes and beans, then last 5 minutes added corn. topped with cilantro and sour cream and served with roasted jalapeno cheddar cornbread recipe from another site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I did almost exactly what Keri did with this recipe. First of all, I cut the recipe in half and omitted the oil since my pork was cooked already. I started with a can of tomatoes and green chiles (didn't have any fresh tomatoes) as well as 1 can of diced green chiles. I added frozen corn kernels and the rest of the ingredients, except for the meat, and cooked it for 15 minutes. Then I added the left-over cooked pork tenderloin and cooked it for about 20-30 more minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! I changed it a little: I dredged the cubed pork in a mixture of 1 1/2 cups flour and 1 teaspoon cumin, let it sit for about 15 minutes, and then browned it in batches in my Dutch oven in a little oil. I then returned all of the meat to the pot, added enough of the chicken stock to make an inch in the bottom of the pot, brought it to a boil, reduced heat, covered, and simmered for about 45 minutes before completing the recipe as suggested. This will result in very tender morsels of pork. My husband and I both loved the result. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenore, Idaho, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very good. A little spicier than I was expecting but still quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Versailles, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Being a Native New mexican, who happens to also be a Pueblo Indian. I fine this incorrect. We never add cumin, oregano, canned corn, and NEVER EVER celery or canned green chiles. We boil the pork, and add fresh or frozen corn. Roasted and (peeled) New Mexican green chiles. For a 2lb roast at least 2 cloves of fresh garlic. You can add 1/2 c of diced tomatoes for color. Boiling the pork cuts down on the added oil. If you boil the pork for an hour with the garlic before the remaining ingredients you will notice a big difference. But please drop the cumin, oregano, and for Petes sake the celery & canned chiles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States