Pudding from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by brenda
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Easy and fun to change flavor and color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Out friggin standing! Turned out great for this retired Army soldier. I followed the instructions exactly, and got four perfect 5 1/2-once servings plus a little accidentally left in the bowl to lick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I've been searching for a way to make a coconut cream pie filling without all the egg,as I have egg allergies, and this was wonderful. It made the perfect creamy filling. I did make modifications. I used coconut palm sugar instead of regular sugar. I used 1 cup of coconut cream and 1.5 cups of whole milk to = the 2.5 cups of milk it called for. I ended up leaving out the vanilla and adding natural coconut extract. It turned out nice a creamy and the perfect consistency.Thanks!I'll be trying this recipe with different flavorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teresamckevitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is an excellent pudding. It's way better than any packaged mix, most of which will start to separate after a day or two. This (at least what was left) was still in fine shape three days later. I made this for dirt pudding for our senior center lunch on Wednesday - yeah with the gummy worms and flowers "growing" out of the "dirt". Great consistency - an excellent pudding to which you can add fruit or eat by itself. I made it with 2% milk and was generous with the vanilla extract. I also replaced 2/3 of the sugar requirement with store brand of Splenda to accommodate the diabetics. Everyone enjoyed the custard. Oh, I also took the suggestion of one of the other reviewers to add a bit of food coloring - great idea - white custard just doesn't have the same appeal as one with a bit of color. Thanks to the recipe poster - this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was easier that I thought it would be and it turned out great. I used half whole milk and half fat free milk and it still thickened up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I'm currently living in a small city in China and don't have access to box pudding (or easy/cheap access to butter), and I wanted to make dirt pudding (with Oreo crumbles and gummy worms) to celebrate Halloween, so I tried this recipe. I added a few tablespoons of cocoa powder to give it a chocolatey flavor. Other people used chocolate chips; I think that's probably better, as the cocoa powder clumped and refused to completely mix in, even after several minutes of stirring. (But it tasted fine, and for dirt pudding, having clumps of cocoa powder was perfect!) Everyone liked it, and the texture was perfectly pudding-y. I followed the directions and it came out exactly the way it was supposed to. I also wasn't very exact with my measurements, not having American measuring cups, but it still came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
In my opinion this recipe is better than the box vanilla jello instant pudding. I used raw sugar(used a food processor to make the raw sugar finer) instead of the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is exactly what i was looking for, a vanilla pudding recipe without eggs, and it came out perfect! you do have to cook it for a very long time, but its worth it not to have any preservatives in it like the store bought kind. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
i have tried this one and the chocolate pudding from scratch and they are both good, use your judgement on the vanilla extract, some people like it more vanillaouy..? but not to sweet, and goes great with whip topping or canned or fresh fruit. They produce six half cup servings, very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Splash Rubio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My husband recently had 2 teeth pulled so I made this for him. I added 1 1/2 cup nestle chocolate chips right before I took it off the heat. It was really good and he devoured it fast. Will need to triple the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States