Pudding Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
I've tried three variations of this recipe...chocolate/chocolate, white/vanilla and yellow with vanilla and chocolate. (Make the puddings separately, each with half the powdered sugar and milk. Use the vanilla to pour in the holes of the warm cake. Use the chocolate to frost.) Very much like an extremely easy Boston Creme Pie. Definately on my "keeper" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Very nice recipe! I used French Vanilla cake with choc pudding. Put one small box instant choc with 1c milk over the top of the cake. Then added another sm box choc pudding with 1c milk and 8oz of cool whip for the frosting. It is great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
What a fantastic treat! Unlike some of the skeptics (who may just have too much time on their hands), I truly appreciate a recipe like this one - it's simple, quick, yet very delicious. I used white cake mix with pistachio pudding...didn't change a thing otherwise. My entire family LOVED it and it dissapeared in less than two days. Thank you so much Karin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Everyone loves this cake. Although I usually leave out the sugar - I just use chocolate pudding down the holes and "frost" the cake with a chocolate pudding/cool whip combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
It doesn't get much easier than this! Although I do prefer the non-instant type pudding, which works just as well, but takes a little more time. There are many combo possibilities with this recipe - banana cake w/banana cream pudding, chocolate/chocolate, white cake/coconut pudding, etc. Top w/whipped cream and you've got a super dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This cake was very tasty and easy to make. I used white cake with banana creme pudding which makes a very good combination. I have only one problem with this cake. The cup of confectioner's sugar makes it way too sweet. I like sweet stuff as much as the next gal, but next time I'll either half the sugar or leave it out completely. Otherwise, this is a very nice, cool, refreshing dessert. And my cake wasn't gloopy either. It was at first, but I put it back in the fridge for about another hour and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This was such an easy recipe and sooo yummy. And light tasting. I hate, hate, hate frosting and icing and never use it because I like my cakes lighter. This is a gooey, almost wet-cake that is kind of difficult to serve to guests because it tends to fall apart as you are putting it in the serving dish, but my sister and i basically put the pan in front of us with two spoons and ate ab out a quarter of it. It's best if it's refrigerated for several hours (if you can wait). Also, I did not use any of the recommended sugar and it was sweet enough; I mixed each pudding package separately, first the one pack with the 2 cups of milk and poured the thin pudding into the holes and allowed the cake to sit for about 10 minutes and then mixed the second pudding package with the milk and whipped until firmer...Also, I used only one egg and two egg-whitess and only 1/4 cup of oil (instead of the 1/2) for the cake mix as it said on the box. I used Devil's food cake mix and vanilla pudding for the holes and banana pudding for the top...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Fantastic! I tried this recipe using vanilla cake mix and pistachio pudding. It was fantastic and I liked the idea of topping the cake with pudding instead of thick, heavy frosting. This cake comes highly recommended. My family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
SHHHH!!! Don't tell my husband how easy this cake is to make! He thinks I slaved away making a fancy cake for him from scratch. I made it with a boxed butter cake mix and banana pudding for filling the holes and a chocolate pudding for the "frosting." Very much like banana Boston Cream pie. Yummer-ific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So many options with this recipe! Here is what I did: boxed pillsbury sugar free cake mix (made for diabetic) sugar free cheesecake pudding, I omitted confect. sugar and just added a little more milk. Sugar free chocolate pudding with cool whip for frosting. I served with fresh strawberries/blueberries on top. Huge hit! Thanks for the start. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri1104

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States