Pudding Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Pretty good cake. A little too sweet with the powdered sugar, next time I would leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
I've tried three variations of this recipe...chocolate/chocolate, white/vanilla and yellow with vanilla and chocolate. (Make the puddings separately, each with half the powdered sugar and milk. Use the vanilla to pour in the holes of the warm cake. Use the chocolate to frost.) Very much like an extremely easy Boston Creme Pie. Definately on my "keeper" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Fantastic! I tried this recipe using vanilla cake mix and pistachio pudding. It was fantastic and I liked the idea of topping the cake with pudding instead of thick, heavy frosting. This cake comes highly recommended. My family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
My daughters and I made this together and they had so much fun! I only added a touch of the 10X sugar and it came out just right. I am not much of a frosting fan, so the pudding was a great way for me to enjoy cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Very yummy! I also make a cake similar to this one except you pour strawberry jello into the holes, chill, and top with cool whip and sliced fresh strawberries. A great treat on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
Made it for my boyfriend's Bday, he loved it! He's a chocolate lover, so I used an organic devil's food cake mix from the health food store, then used Jello chocolate pudding. It was super-soupy (maybe I used the wrong size pudding mix, or maybe it was the skim milk?), and the 'stripes' weren't so obvious, but it was so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Very nice recipe! I used French Vanilla cake with choc pudding. Put one small box instant choc with 1c milk over the top of the cake. Then added another sm box choc pudding with 1c milk and 8oz of cool whip for the frosting. It is great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This is a great dessert for a warm day. I used the recommendations by others by not using the confectioners sugar. It turned out great, it would've been way too sweet with the sugar! I'm interested in trying different pudding & cake flavors. Thanks Karin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This was such an easy recipe and sooo yummy. And light tasting. I hate, hate, hate frosting and icing and never use it because I like my cakes lighter. This is a gooey, almost wet-cake that is kind of difficult to serve to guests because it tends to fall apart as you are putting it in the serving dish, but my sister and i basically put the pan in front of us with two spoons and ate ab out a quarter of it. It's best if it's refrigerated for several hours (if you can wait). Also, I did not use any of the recommended sugar and it was sweet enough; I mixed each pudding package separately, first the one pack with the 2 cups of milk and poured the thin pudding into the holes and allowed the cake to sit for about 10 minutes and then mixed the second pudding package with the milk and whipped until firmer...Also, I used only one egg and two egg-whitess and only 1/4 cup of oil (instead of the 1/2) for the cake mix as it said on the box. I used Devil's food cake mix and vanilla pudding for the holes and banana pudding for the top...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was a great thought. I still prefer the gelatin poke cake hands down. I probably wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States