Pudding No-Bake Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
It seems that most people who are successful with this recipe have changed it to some degree. After following the recipe exactly I had an unacceptable result. I am going to try it once more using some of the suggestions in the reviews. Cut the butter and sugar, add more oats or other dry ingredients as needed to get the firm dough required for the cookies to set up. If I get it to work, I'll add a custom version of the recipe. If you followed these ingredients but changed it to low fat, sugar substitute, etc. then it would be nice to share exactly what you did for others to follow. Because that changed everything about the recipe. That change used the IDEA of it but not the details of it. It;s really a new recipe at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
these were awesome the pudding makes them so moist. one review said they were like brownies and they were right. i only had 3 cups of oats left so i changed it just a little i used 1 cup suger 1 stick of butter 1 5oz can of milk and 1 pack of chocolate pudding. my 3 year old did most of the work. next time i might put some almonds and marshmellow for rocky road or peanut butter chips. we ALL love these cookies!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Remlap, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Good and easy cookies! I made mine with chocolate instant pudding. I only rated these four stars because I cut back the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, and the butter to 1/2 cup, and cannot imagine 2 cups of sugar in these! I love sweet treats and even with the sugar cut back these are just about as sweet as I could tolerate. Mine set up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This recipe is a new staple for us! I love it! I did adjust the portions based on a few reviews and wanted to cut down on fat - I used 1 stick of butter (1/2 cup), 2/3 cup of sugar. They turned out so yummy, and not sure if the reduction in butter made them less gooey but mine sat fine. Not sure where they get 48 servings though, I made 24 rounded tablespoons and they turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I made these with the chocolate fudge pudding. They're WAY too sweet, and I love sweet treats! I would cut the sugar down or just put in cocoa powder (unsweetened) other's have already recommended. I skimmed the reviews and didn't catch that. If I make them again I will cut down on the sugar and use unsweetened cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
this tasted GREAT!!! everyone that can over to my house loved them. But instead of making a bunch of cookies out of them i lined a 13'' by 9'' cake pan with wax paper and put the "batter" into that needless to say it didnt harden but they stayed moist and very gooey...and they still tased great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was an easy recipe to make. My cookies did "set" after awhile but it took longer than the time specified in the recipe. We are able to pick them up but they are sticky. I'm not sure if I boiled the liquid long enough. Our microwave is smaller and it took longer to bring the liquid to a boil and then the door is frosted and it's hard to look w/o opening door to see if boiling or not. Next time I may try making on stove top as others have done. Used vanilla pudding mix and it had a good taste but very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Original recipe is confusing as far as evaporated milk goes. 1/2 can (12oz) means 6oz, so maybe that's why others had problems with the cookies setting. I read it wrong the first time too and almost dumped in the whole can. I used 6 oz and they were not too moist at all, actually almost too dry. They didn't set on their own so I popped them in the oven at 400 for 7 min. I had no parchment paper so I just sprayed the cookie sheet with PAM and it worked fine. Any longer than 7 min though and they burned (oops). I also used splenda, fat-free/sugar-free pudding, and fat-free evap. milk. Will try to experiment with butter substitute next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Great Recipe! Based on other reviews, I did lessen the amount of sugar and I cooked it on the stove rather than the microwave. I also used Pistachio instant pudding and reduced the amount of oats and added 1 cup of coconut. I brought them into work because my co-workers are my recipe guinea pigs...they loved them! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Mine never set up, and were a gooey mess. Taste was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States