Pudding Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
This is the best homemade frosting I have had for sometime! It tastes even better on a homemade cake. It is really glossy and easy to spread and has a very good taste. I frost my cake with this while the frosting is slightly warm. Definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spiralmaster
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was pretty good. I used cocoa powder instead of Baker's chocolate. It thickened up almost instantly after it began to boil. I actually forgot to add the butter and vanilla at the end, and it still tasted good. I should have waited until it cool to spread it, though, because while it was warm it was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This recipe was great, I will keep this one as my favorite. It is not too sweet, spreads nice and looks great. It's the perfect choice if you don't want a real sweet icing. thumbs up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
OMG, this frosting is incredible. I used it with the "Welfare Cake" and it's just amazing. The only reason I gave it fours stars instead of five is because it took about an hour to finally thicken (maybe I had the heat on too low???).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I'm not a big fan of traditional frosting unlike the rest of my family. I'm always trying to find a happy medium. This was great!! Such a nice texture and smooth, rich flavor. I will make again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
If it takes long for it to thicken increase heat to medium, it thickens immediately after it starts boiling. I added the vanilla and butter from the beginning (misread the directions), and it still turned out delicious. It really has the consistency of a pudding, so you could use it for filling a cake too, not only for icing. Unlike other commenters, my husband found this to be a bit on the sweet side, so I would adjust sugar to your liking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Wonderful, this really has the consistency of pudding. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and added less sugar. I didn't have any problems with the thickening, but I used medium heat instead of low because it was taking forever to boil. If you do that just make sure you stir constantly so it doesn't burn. Also... this would make excellent vegan pudding for anyone interested :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This frosting was great. Took a while to thicken up and the bakers chocolate looked quite funny during the cooking process but it all came together in the end. I will be using recipe for many many cakes in my future. Also I used Orange extract instead of vanilla (I had run out), and the citrus flavor really added to the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I was lookin for something that wasn't too sweet & found it! I switched out the unsweetened chocolate for white chocolate & it was excellent! I too found it took forever to thicken - not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jog Dish
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I used this to frost Brookes bombshell brownies from this site. I looked Amazing but I wasn't to fond of the taste. I thought it was super sweet and not to chocolatey, I may try this recipe again...but with some adjustments to the sugar and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States