Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
it was awesome! the perfect vegetarian chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Used diced tomatoes rather than whole and beef broth rather than wine. Fantastic. Doubled and froze half, still had plenty for weekday lunches. Next time I'll add some cocoa and maybe coffee in place of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was delicious!!! I omitted the mushrooms but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I may change is adding a little bit of diced tomatoes in addition to the whole tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Just made this tonight in my brand new dutch oven. I did not have canned black beans on hand so I did a half and half mix using dried black and red beans that I soaked overnight. Other than the bean substitution I followed the recipe to a tee and it came out fantastic! I made this ahead of time for the big Vikings playoff game on Saturday so hoping that, like most chili, this tastes even better in 2 days. Will DEFINITELY make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
DELICIOUS! My vegetarian daughter was visiting, so I wanted to find something without meat that ALL of my family would love. This was it! Used half black beans and half dark red kidney beans, and added some chocolate (5 mini semi- sweet chocolate chips)as several reviewers suggested. I think the chocolate gives it a more full-bodied taste and texture. None of us missed the meat, and it was great by itself or with added cheddar or Parmesan cheese. By the way, instead of adding the hot sauce to the chili, I just placed it on the table, but none of us used it as the chili had just the right kick to it. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I did change the beans....I used a can each of light kidney, pinto, and black bean instead of all black beans and the combination was really good. I also used petite diced tomatoes and baby bella mushrooms. I'll never eat chili with meat in it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Very good - a little time consuming to chop the veggies but it was worth it. I didn't have mushrooms so left that out. I cut the garlic back a bit - glad i did. I did not saute any of the veggies - just threw everything in my crockpot on low for several hours. Turned out perfect. I also just used the whole can of tomato paste, a part of a can of pizza sauce and then a quart of home-canned tomatoes. Will make again - will definitely use mushrooms next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Really good vegetarian chili - I was surprised how good the mushrooms were and how they complimented the chili. Next i make it I think I will used diced tomatoes or crushed tomatoes - the whole tomatoes are not my style. Definitley good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I am just finishing my first bowl of this chili and it is amazing! I dont even miss the beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this recipe as written, except I let it simmer for about 1 1/2. Not only is this the best veggie chili recipe I have ever made, it is one of the best chili recipes period! A hearty, excellent, filling chili. It is an easy recipe and it will become a staple soup in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States