Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
beautiful dish, I tweaked some of the ingredients for consistency and to make the chili a little thicker. When my teenagers ask for thirds I call that a winning dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Great for a good meal if you have given up meat for Lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
We've been making this chili for years. This is our go to meal when we don't have much time, but want a rich, flavorful meal. So many veggies- very hearty! We usually double the recipe so it will last for lunches and dinners the rest of the week. We add a little more hot sauce as we like our chili kicked up a notch. Like most soups and chili, always better made a day or two prior, but just as delicious straight off the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Just got done making the chili, and it came out perfect! I most certainly will have more then 2 bowels and highly recommended this to anyone who wishes to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
woohoo!!! homerun! my family has just started the vegetarian journey and when I heard "you know what would be really good? chili!" I came here, selected this recipe and wow, it is fabulous!!! followed along pretty well-added TVP rehydrated in beef broth and used beef broth instead of water (only 1 cup instead of 2), skipped the wine and rinsed my beans. I also used one can of tomato sauce (15 oz) instead of the whole tomatoes. IT SMELLS AWESOME AND TASTES EVEN BETTER!!! so thankful for good food that's really, really good for our bodies! it's been almost a month and I DON'T MISS MEAT AT ALL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Delicious! I added more chili, and it was good and spicy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MtnBikeGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
AWESOME FOR LARGE CROWDS! I made this recipe for 40 servings (so 5x the original recipe). Instead of fresh green peppers, onions, carrots, celery - I used prechopped/frozen bags of green peppers and mirepoix mix (nine 10oz. bags total). This was a good idea! I did use fresh mushrooms. I sauteed the veggies in a large electric skillet (in batches) with a generous amount olive oil and garlic. I used three 6-quart crockpots to divvy the sauteed veggies and canned tomatoes/beans/wine. The spices were mixed all together in a glass pint jar. I divvyed the mixed spices between the three crockpots. Cooked over night and it turned out great! It was a huge hit (made for contestants at a ski race) and many came back for 2nds and 3rds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
We make this chili every week! It's incredible. We've only made a few changes over the months- instead of all black beans, we use a can of each black, kidney, garbanzo beans, we throw in a few handfuls of chopped kale, and we use heaping portions of the spices (and fresh basil/oregano). This chili is incredible on the first night with sweet potato biscuits, but the leftovers are amazing as chili eggs (scramble eggs/egg-whites/tofu, when eggs are 80% done stir in a few spoonfuls of chili, cook together. lately we've been eating with toasted whole grain pitas but anything would work!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Really liked this recipe. It's tough to cook for me (non-vegetarian) and my wife (vegetarian), but this is one of those recipes we both like. Plus, it's hearty for a cold day and actually does taste like the kind of chili you would get in a pub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Fantastic recipe, just what I was looking for. Thick, rich, complex. My kids devoured it, then were shocked to learn it was meatless. I wasn't extremely precise with the veggies, so probably went heavy on mushrooms, onions, carrots, celery. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Nenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States