Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Delicious. I had no tomato paste or wine. Like one reviewer I added 1/4 cup coffee in place of the wine, and used about a can of tomato sauce.I added 2 beef bouillon cubes for some flavor (since we are not strict vegetarians) All seasonings are as is in the recipe. I think it tastes delicious and you would never know it was a vegetarian version with all the yummy beans and veggies. Has a nice kick, but not overbearing. Going to make some cornbread to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Best vegetarian chili I've ever found. Very hearty and full of flavour. If you're new to vegetarian foods then I would try adding some meatless ground round into it. Not necessary for flavor, but it adds a good meat-texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe, but omitted the mushrooms and it was wonderful. what a great chili, you don't miss the meat. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
beautiful dish, I tweaked some of the ingredients for consistency and to make the chili a little thicker. When my teenagers ask for thirds I call that a winning dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Great for a good meal if you have given up meat for Lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
We've been making this chili for years. This is our go to meal when we don't have much time, but want a rich, flavorful meal. So many veggies- very hearty! We usually double the recipe so it will last for lunches and dinners the rest of the week. We add a little more hot sauce as we like our chili kicked up a notch. Like most soups and chili, always better made a day or two prior, but just as delicious straight off the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Just got done making the chili, and it came out perfect! I most certainly will have more then 2 bowels and highly recommended this to anyone who wishes to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
woohoo!!! homerun! my family has just started the vegetarian journey and when I heard "you know what would be really good? chili!" I came here, selected this recipe and wow, it is fabulous!!! followed along pretty well-added TVP rehydrated in beef broth and used beef broth instead of water (only 1 cup instead of 2), skipped the wine and rinsed my beans. I also used one can of tomato sauce (15 oz) instead of the whole tomatoes. IT SMELLS AWESOME AND TASTES EVEN BETTER!!! so thankful for good food that's really, really good for our bodies! it's been almost a month and I DON'T MISS MEAT AT ALL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Delicious! I added more chili, and it was good and spicy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MtnBikeGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
AWESOME FOR LARGE CROWDS! I made this recipe for 40 servings (so 5x the original recipe). Instead of fresh green peppers, onions, carrots, celery - I used prechopped/frozen bags of green peppers and mirepoix mix (nine 10oz. bags total). This was a good idea! I did use fresh mushrooms. I sauteed the veggies in a large electric skillet (in batches) with a generous amount olive oil and garlic. I used three 6-quart crockpots to divvy the sauteed veggies and canned tomatoes/beans/wine. The spices were mixed all together in a glass pint jar. I divvyed the mixed spices between the three crockpots. Cooked over night and it turned out great! It was a huge hit (made for contestants at a ski race) and many came back for 2nds and 3rds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States