Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
AWESOME! I did not use canned tomatoes. I mixed the tomato paste with fresh diced tomatoes. I will never eat meat chilly again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is good stuff! I made it a day ahead of time and reheated it the next day and it was outstanding. We ate it with some prepared quinoa stirred in and served it with saltines. My son who hates mushrooms loved it (they were chopped and he didn't notice them). My husband loves my ground round chili, and he loved this. I used my pampered chef chopper to rough chop all of the vegetables so that when cooked it looked like chili and not vegetable soup. Here are the small adjustments I made: hate bell peppers and chunks of tomatoes, so I puréed stewed tomatoes, added a bit more chili powder, tsp or so of oregano, 1 or 2 tsp cocoa, red pepper flakes, and tabasco sauce. Very aromatic and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very tasty! Omitted the 2 cups water to yield a thicker chili. Also substituted 2 cans petite diced tomatoes for the large can of peeled tomatoes. Even my mushroom-hating husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Delicious. I had no tomato paste or wine. Like one reviewer I added 1/4 cup coffee in place of the wine, and used about a can of tomato sauce.I added 2 beef bouillon cubes for some flavor (since we are not strict vegetarians) All seasonings are as is in the recipe. I think it tastes delicious and you would never know it was a vegetarian version with all the yummy beans and veggies. Has a nice kick, but not overbearing. Going to make some cornbread to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Best vegetarian chili I've ever found. Very hearty and full of flavour. If you're new to vegetarian foods then I would try adding some meatless ground round into it. Not necessary for flavor, but it adds a good meat-texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe, but omitted the mushrooms and it was wonderful. what a great chili, you don't miss the meat. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
beautiful dish, I tweaked some of the ingredients for consistency and to make the chili a little thicker. When my teenagers ask for thirds I call that a winning dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Great for a good meal if you have given up meat for Lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
We've been making this chili for years. This is our go to meal when we don't have much time, but want a rich, flavorful meal. So many veggies- very hearty! We usually double the recipe so it will last for lunches and dinners the rest of the week. We add a little more hot sauce as we like our chili kicked up a notch. Like most soups and chili, always better made a day or two prior, but just as delicious straight off the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Just got done making the chili, and it came out perfect! I most certainly will have more then 2 bowels and highly recommended this to anyone who wishes to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States