Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I never thought I would try something different from my standard chili recipe I've been using for years, but when I found this one, I was happily surprised. I am not a big fan of tomato chunks, so I used one can of stewed tomatoes and one can of tomato sauce. I also added an extra can of chili beans, and chopped up a couple jalapeno peppers. The chili is so hearty, my husband doesn't even miss the meat! As others have said, I drained the liquid from the beans before adding them. I have made this twice in 2 weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great. I've been looking for a good standard vegetarian chili and this will do me fine. I only made few alterations: less water (1 cup), less oil (3T), more celery (3 sticks), mixed the beans (a 14oz can each of black, pinto & kidney) and added one Thai green chili. Other than that I think it was as writ. I did use the bean liquid, which I think helps with the thickening. The chili powder I was using was quite powerful, so this came out plenty hot for me, but I'm about a 3/10 on the hotness ladder so chili-heads could use a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I loved this!! If you want make the texture a little thicker, drain the black beans and it's amazingly like chili. My whole family (even those who aren't vegetarian) loved this. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Awesome chili recipe! I didn't have mushrooms so I used extra carrots, red, yellow, and green peppers. I also used both red and black beans. I love the Boil Maker chili recipe with the meat, but you will not miss the meat in this recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this both with meat for my husband and without meat for me. I added corn and left out the mushrooms, carrots and celery. He said it was the best chili he's tasted and I loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is my go-to recipe, I finally decided to review it. It is awesome. My only comments/changes...I use bella mushrooms, I use fresh tomatoes instead of canned (I take off the skins and throw them in my blender). I substitute one can of black beans & one can of kidney beans for the 3 cups(because its easier). I don't add wine, pepper sauce or the water (we like thick chili that can be scooped on a chip). My prep time seems to be a lot longer than 30 minutes with chopping up the vegetables so a suggestion would be to chop them up, add the spices and put everything in a big bowl ahead of time (keeping the tomatoes separate, of course). Then when your ready to cook, it's all prepared. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
YES YES YES!!!! I am a meat eater and I did NOT miss the meat at all. This recipe ROCKS! Thank you for sharing. It will definitely go into my collection of recipes that will be repeated! I followed the recipe as written (except I used portobella mushrooms). This was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made it for a small (very) un-snobby art opening - I was surprised how good it was; the canned potatoes thickened the it and it really is more than the sum of its parts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The only 2 changes I made was using 2 cans of roasted diced tomatoes and no wine since I didn't have any. I made it for a pot-luck at work and everyone loved it! I have ingrediants in fridge again and will be adding spinach and 3 cans of different kinds of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Great Chili. My Meat eating parents loved it, as did I. I used sliced portabella mushrooms instead of the sliced white, doubled the garlic and chili powder, added 1 tbs of dark honey, and a small sqaure of hershey's chocolate. Garnished with green onions, sour cream and tortilla chips...AWESOME!!!!! As A vegetarian, i have been looking for a hearty chili recipe and this exceeded my expectations....not to mention it is EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States