Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I followed recipe to a T, but did a test taste before serving and found it to be somewhat bland. I added two tsp of Better than Bouillon and some smoked paprika. I cooked it a bit longer, and ladled it up with a bit of sour cream and cheddar cheese. It was then pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This chili is so good, you don't even miss the meat. It's the only vegetarian dish, in fact, that my boyfriend ever specifically requests and he's named this the second best chili he's ever tried (losing only to his brother's famous - and secret - meat-heavy chili). The only things I do differently was omit the celery (I'm not a fan of celery) and add a can of kidney beans. I've also tried it with dark beer instead of wine and it's just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicja Wisniewska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made this for NY day, and used 1 can black beans (drained!) and about a cup or so of black-eyed peas, to meet my southern tradition for New Year's. I think it's delicious, and very filling, but I found it to be too spicy, and I even cut down on some of the spices. I only used 1 tsp of cumin, not a tablespoon, and didn't have chili powder on hand so used a tsp. of paprika and tsp. of cayenne pepper instead. I only used a tsp. of salt, and one cup of water, because I like really chunky chili, not "soup" chili, plus the extra sodium is not needed! The consistency was perfect. Added a Tsp. of cocoa powder. Next time, I will just leave out the hot sauce to see if that fixes the slightly "too spicy" taste. I know some people really love spicy though! I also used red pepper, instead of green, as I don't care for green peppers. I garnished with some fresh sliced avocado and non-fat plain yogurt. Overall this is a great recipe and I will enjoy tweaking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCulley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Excellent, and my kids loved it. Although it was a little spicy for my youngest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carymolyneux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was delicious! I made this recipe with what I had on hand, and I am sure it would have been just as good has I followed the recipe exactly. I used 1\2 the oil it called for; a yellow bell pepper instead of green; didn't add the red wine; two 14 oz. cans of diced tomatoes instead of the 28 oz. whole; added 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes instead of the hot sauce; added an extra 1/4 tsp. sea salt. I used two cans of black beans and it was very close to 3 cups. Everything else was the same. It was a thinner chili, so I simmered it for 45 minutes to reduce the liquid. We dipped corn tortilla chips in it and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
As someone with both vegetarian and omnivorous housemates, I'm always on the lookout for hearty, but meatless recipes that the whole household can enjoy. This fit the bill perfectly. I made it according to the recipe, and indeed no one missed the meat (one of the meat-eaters even went back for seconds). It's a filling, spicy chili that's perfect for warming up on cold days. You can also make it the night before and store in the fridge, then toss it back into the pot and rewarm it when ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Just made this for a halloween get together. Everyone raved about it! Even the meat eaters! Skipped the mushrooms, used all black beans and used 2 cups sauce vs paste and water. Also added some fresh hot peppers. Was even better after it sat for 2 days. Excellent and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I recently cooked for a community kitchen and used this recipe for the vegetarian main-dish. It was an absolute hit served with "homesteader cornbread". However, I was sure to cook this one time before I served it to a large group of people. I found that I needed to decrease the chili powder, add a tsp of sweet paprika and ~2 tsp of sugar, and double the basil and oregano to suit my tastes. With those minor changes, this recipe is absolutely phenomenal. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
My 3 and 6 year old will eat this up and if it's a little too spicy put on a little sour cream and throw in some fishy crackers. My husband goes back for seconds and thirds and he swore he would never like veggie chili. Love this recipe exactly as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Out of the ball park loved this recipe. 1st time made it and easy wonderful taste. Cant wait to see how the flavors are with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Willinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States