Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Excellent, and my kids loved it. Although it was a little spicy for my youngest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carymolyneux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was delicious! I made this recipe with what I had on hand, and I am sure it would have been just as good has I followed the recipe exactly. I used 1\2 the oil it called for; a yellow bell pepper instead of green; didn't add the red wine; two 14 oz. cans of diced tomatoes instead of the 28 oz. whole; added 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes instead of the hot sauce; added an extra 1/4 tsp. sea salt. I used two cans of black beans and it was very close to 3 cups. Everything else was the same. It was a thinner chili, so I simmered it for 45 minutes to reduce the liquid. We dipped corn tortilla chips in it and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
As someone with both vegetarian and omnivorous housemates, I'm always on the lookout for hearty, but meatless recipes that the whole household can enjoy. This fit the bill perfectly. I made it according to the recipe, and indeed no one missed the meat (one of the meat-eaters even went back for seconds). It's a filling, spicy chili that's perfect for warming up on cold days. You can also make it the night before and store in the fridge, then toss it back into the pot and rewarm it when ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Just made this for a halloween get together. Everyone raved about it! Even the meat eaters! Skipped the mushrooms, used all black beans and used 2 cups sauce vs paste and water. Also added some fresh hot peppers. Was even better after it sat for 2 days. Excellent and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I recently cooked for a community kitchen and used this recipe for the vegetarian main-dish. It was an absolute hit served with "homesteader cornbread". However, I was sure to cook this one time before I served it to a large group of people. I found that I needed to decrease the chili powder, add a tsp of sweet paprika and ~2 tsp of sugar, and double the basil and oregano to suit my tastes. With those minor changes, this recipe is absolutely phenomenal. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
My 3 and 6 year old will eat this up and if it's a little too spicy put on a little sour cream and throw in some fishy crackers. My husband goes back for seconds and thirds and he swore he would never like veggie chili. Love this recipe exactly as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Out of the ball park loved this recipe. 1st time made it and easy wonderful taste. Cant wait to see how the flavors are with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Willinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
OMG! This chili is fantastic! I usually include meat, but didn't miss it in the least. I swapped some frozen corn for the mushrooms. I also used pinto beans, red kidney beans and the black beans. The chili is very colorful and oh, so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is truly amazing!! You honestly do not miss or even realize there is no meat! Great as written but I used vegetable broth in place of water. No tomato paste. Added extra chili powder and cumin for my taste. Chopoed up one jalapeño. Used kidney, pinto and black beans. Also used red and green pepper. Threw everything in crockpot all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is the chili recipe of my dreams. I found this recipe when trying to decide what to make for vegetarian friends for dinner. They ended up not coming, and my carnivorous husband and I ate almost all of this ourselves! I skipped the mushrooms, 'cause I'm not a fungi fan. I also used maybe a tablespoon of olive oil at the beginning. I didn't add any water. After I sauteed the vegetables in the EVOO, I threw everything in the crockpot and left it alone. My husband actually forgot this was meatless. This is my go-to chili recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States