Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Great recipe!!! I also added some zucchini to it and used diced tomatoes as well. Fantastic! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Excellent. Added cubed roasted butternut squash and chipotle chili powder. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
VERY good! I left out the mushrooms because I did not have any. I used one can of diced tomatoes, 1 can of rotel tomatoes, and a shiraz for the wine. I reduced the water to 1 cup and added a can of tomato sauce. I also added about a teaspoon of coco powder during the simmer. I did increase the chili powder by 2 tsp because we like spice. Served over brown rice. This smelled fantastic while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamratoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I love that this flavorful chili is packed with fresh vegetables! What a healthy alternative for lunch or dinner. So filling and tasty! Each serving is four PointsPlus on Weight Watchers. It is also quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was my first vegetarian meal to cook and it was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I used sliced Baby Bella mushrooms, chopped red bell peppers instead of green and I used what I call "a mess" of fresh garlic (and what I mean is instead of measuring out a tablespoon, I just chopped up a handful of fresh cloves). Instead of using water, I used organic beef broth. This is very, very good. I had a cup and a half for lunch today and I'm thinking about going back for more. What I love most about this is it's filling without going overboard and you can indulge and half a little more without feeling guilty. GREAT recipe--a snap to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Yum! I can't speak to the proportions as I didn't really pay attention to them, but this combination of ingredients makes a hearty chili. Substituted a bouillon cube for the salt and threw in some leftover quinoa just because but it definitely wasn't necessary. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Made this recipe for my vegetarian family and it was a thumbs up! I added zuchini, red peppers and used some tomato sauce from the heirloom tomatoes in my garden. It was perfect with just black beans and all the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I sub'd chopped zucchini in place of mushrooms but was faithful to all other ingredients. LOVE this chili! The one thing I did do differently is cook it longer, and with the lid off. The first 30 minutes I simmer with the lid on and then give it another 40-60 minutes with the lid off to evaporate off some of that water content so the *sauce* is thicker. Thrown a lit of grated cheese on the top of each serving and we're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Wow! This is a great recipie. I was looking for a diet friendly soup/stew. I cut way back on oil-sauteed everything in 1 TBSP of olive oil and added a small zucchini. Otherwise, followed the recipie exactly. I served it with a little shredded cheese and crushed tortilla chips-Fantastic and low-cal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States