Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I used sliced Baby Bella mushrooms, chopped red bell peppers instead of green and I used what I call "a mess" of fresh garlic (and what I mean is instead of measuring out a tablespoon, I just chopped up a handful of fresh cloves). Instead of using water, I used organic beef broth. This is very, very good. I had a cup and a half for lunch today and I'm thinking about going back for more. What I love most about this is it's filling without going overboard and you can indulge and half a little more without feeling guilty. GREAT recipe--a snap to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made chili the other day--almost exactly like this--and it was delicious! Some people don't like chili minus the "beef" component, so I take some wheat berries and quinoa and cook in some veggie "beef" broth by Better Than Bullion and it gives a great flavor, and texture to the chili that satisfies my non-veggie friends. Additionally, the grains give a lot of nutritional value in an almost non-fat medium. Hope you enjoy it if you give it a try, and thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is such a great vegetarian chili recipe! Next time I would use diced tomatoes instead of the whole ones though (just a personal preference). Also, I used a quarter cup of coffee instead of red wine since I didn't have any around- worked great! I also drained my beans instead of using the juices. Sure to be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Amazing! I made a version with zucchini instead of mushrooms (for friends who don't like mushrooms) and a version that followed the recipe exactly. Both were delicious, but the mushroom version was heartier and more chili like. Easy and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Delicious. I've found it difficult to get a good rich chili flavor with vegetarian chilis before, but this recipe has a REALLY great flavor. I did add meatless crumbles for texture and had to leave out mushrooms because I didn't have any, but I basically did everything else as directed and the results were AWESOME. Thank you for the recipe!! This will be my go-to vegetarian chili recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Added zuchini rather than celery and also mixed in ground turkey. One of the best chili recipes we have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie.eliza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Our family all ate this! The only thing I would change next time is less chili powder. I used 1 Tablespoon and it ended up being too spicy for me to really enjoy the flavors of the other ingredients. However, my husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Yummy! Great chili and chock full of veggies...loved the mushrooms in this. I also added a chopped red pepper and used a can of dark red kidney beans and a can of black beans which I did drain and rinse. Otherwise this was very good and filling, Nice one Sanzoe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My mother, a fan of chili, has me make this about every other week. I found a chocolate wine for the red wine (wine with chocolate in it, not to be consumed with chocolate) and she'll eat this chili for days straight as long as there are leftovers. The only problem we have is the whole tomatoes, which must be cut with the spoon. We'll be replacing them with diced, I believe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This recipe is deelicious. Next time I am going to use crushed tomatoes rather than whole peeled tomatoes, which I think will make this recipe just perfect for my palate. Thanks for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States