Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I mostly followed the recipe and it turned out great! I didn't measure the veggies or spices, I added a big handful of chopped kale and a heaping tablespoon of crunchy peanut butter! I used cashews in a chili recipe once and loved it so I thought I'd try peanut butter since I had some. I also used one can of kidney and one can of black beans and topped it with cheddar cheese, green onions and a bit of low fat plain yogurt. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe. Didn't use mushrooms but added red kidney beans and white beans. Even my husband, who usually only likes chili with meat in it, said he'd like to have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight and it is the best chili I've ever had! I have been interested in pursuing a vegan lifestyle and thought this would be a great start to having a meatless version of a popular food. I left out mushrooms since I don't like them and I increased the celery to 1 cup. I didn't have red wine so that was left out as well. The spices were perfect and you don't miss the meat at all. In fact this beats out any traditional meat chili that I've ever had! And my kids really loved it and that was a surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
good flavor but sort of a weird combination of ingredients. Didn't really feel like a chili to me. not sure if I am going to make it again but I am glad I made it once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
it was awesome! the perfect vegetarian chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Used diced tomatoes rather than whole and beef broth rather than wine. Fantastic. Doubled and froze half, still had plenty for weekday lunches. Next time I'll add some cocoa and maybe coffee in place of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was delicious!!! I omitted the mushrooms but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I may change is adding a little bit of diced tomatoes in addition to the whole tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Just made this tonight in my brand new dutch oven. I did not have canned black beans on hand so I did a half and half mix using dried black and red beans that I soaked overnight. Other than the bean substitution I followed the recipe to a tee and it came out fantastic! I made this ahead of time for the big Vikings playoff game on Saturday so hoping that, like most chili, this tastes even better in 2 days. Will DEFINITELY make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
DELICIOUS! My vegetarian daughter was visiting, so I wanted to find something without meat that ALL of my family would love. This was it! Used half black beans and half dark red kidney beans, and added some chocolate (5 mini semi- sweet chocolate chips)as several reviewers suggested. I think the chocolate gives it a more full-bodied taste and texture. None of us missed the meat, and it was great by itself or with added cheddar or Parmesan cheese. By the way, instead of adding the hot sauce to the chili, I just placed it on the table, but none of us used it as the chili had just the right kick to it. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I did change the beans....I used a can each of light kidney, pinto, and black bean instead of all black beans and the combination was really good. I also used petite diced tomatoes and baby bella mushrooms. I'll never eat chili with meat in it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States