Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
We love this recipe!! We have made it several times now. Kids like it and we've even tested it at a potluck (no leftovers!). The meat is not missed in this flavorful combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is a very good chili with lots of of yummies veggies. I reduced the water to one cup, left out the mushrooms due to personal preference and added a can of chili beans to compensate. Thanks for sharing your recipe, sanzoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made this for a Super Bowl party and it was a big hit, even amongst meat lovers! Next time I make it, I think I will break the whole tomatoes up a little bit. Some of the chunks were too large to eat in a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
For a vegetarian chili, it was ok. I didn't fall in love with it, but my bf really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Just okay. I didn't change anything and found this recipe bland. I would recommend adding a couple of bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Loved it! Added extra celery and carrots in place of mushrooms, and used two 28oz cans of crushed tomatoes in place of whole tomatoes, tomato paste and water since I had the crushed tomatoes. Also added 2tsp. cocoa as others suggested. Will make again - my husband was a big fan, too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was a very flavourful chili! I served it at a community lunch program to rave reviews. One downside, I found it to be very thin so I added cornstarch to thicken, and increased to spices to compensate for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Pond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have chili powder, but my addition of a few green chile peppers gave it a really nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I never thought I would try something different from my standard chili recipe I've been using for years, but when I found this one, I was happily surprised. I am not a big fan of tomato chunks, so I used one can of stewed tomatoes and one can of tomato sauce. I also added an extra can of chili beans, and chopped up a couple jalapeno peppers. The chili is so hearty, my husband doesn't even miss the meat! As others have said, I drained the liquid from the beans before adding them. I have made this twice in 2 weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great. I've been looking for a good standard vegetarian chili and this will do me fine. I only made few alterations: less water (1 cup), less oil (3T), more celery (3 sticks), mixed the beans (a 14oz can each of black, pinto & kidney) and added one Thai green chili. Other than that I think it was as writ. I did use the bean liquid, which I think helps with the thickening. The chili powder I was using was quite powerful, so this came out plenty hot for me, but I'm about a 3/10 on the hotness ladder so chili-heads could use a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States