Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
OMG! This chili is fantastic! I usually include meat, but didn't miss it in the least. I swapped some frozen corn for the mushrooms. I also used pinto beans, red kidney beans and the black beans. The chili is very colorful and oh, so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is truly amazing!! You honestly do not miss or even realize there is no meat! Great as written but I used vegetable broth in place of water. No tomato paste. Added extra chili powder and cumin for my taste. Chopoed up one jalapeño. Used kidney, pinto and black beans. Also used red and green pepper. Threw everything in crockpot all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is the chili recipe of my dreams. I found this recipe when trying to decide what to make for vegetarian friends for dinner. They ended up not coming, and my carnivorous husband and I ate almost all of this ourselves! I skipped the mushrooms, 'cause I'm not a fungi fan. I also used maybe a tablespoon of olive oil at the beginning. I didn't add any water. After I sauteed the vegetables in the EVOO, I threw everything in the crockpot and left it alone. My husband actually forgot this was meatless. This is my go-to chili recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
We love this recipe!! We have made it several times now. Kids like it and we've even tested it at a potluck (no leftovers!). The meat is not missed in this flavorful combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is a very good chili with lots of of yummies veggies. I reduced the water to one cup, left out the mushrooms due to personal preference and added a can of chili beans to compensate. Thanks for sharing your recipe, sanzoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made this for a Super Bowl party and it was a big hit, even amongst meat lovers! Next time I make it, I think I will break the whole tomatoes up a little bit. Some of the chunks were too large to eat in a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
For a vegetarian chili, it was ok. I didn't fall in love with it, but my bf really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Just okay. I didn't change anything and found this recipe bland. I would recommend adding a couple of bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Loved it! Added extra celery and carrots in place of mushrooms, and used two 28oz cans of crushed tomatoes in place of whole tomatoes, tomato paste and water since I had the crushed tomatoes. Also added 2tsp. cocoa as others suggested. Will make again - my husband was a big fan, too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was a very flavourful chili! I served it at a community lunch program to rave reviews. One downside, I found it to be very thin so I added cornstarch to thicken, and increased to spices to compensate for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States