Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
I used all bread flour and light sour cream instead of regular. This had to be the most perfect loaf of bread I've ever made, but sourdough it was not. It tasted like a regular white bread but the texture was incredible, the inside was so soft and spongy and the crust was crisp without being crunchy or thick and it was just the right color. It also freezes well and makes excellent toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This recipe is fantastic. I used all bread machine flour because I didn't have any barley flour either. I also used low fat sour cream. Honestly you couldn't tell the diffence. Also, after the first kneading and rise, I added one small onion chopped up to the bread machine and let it work into the loaf on it's own. It made the house smell wonderful and gave the bread an absolutely fabulous taste. I am so impressed with this recipe. You have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Terrific recipe. Had to use all bread flour as didn't have barley flour or potato flakes and also used fat free sour cream. Bread still came out beautifully fluffy and tastily tangy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Great bread! Was a little sweeter than the typical sourdough, but a great bread. I used fat free sour cream and added fresh minced garlic and fresh rosemary to the dough - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This recipe was very good as printed. I also did another version that turned out well to serve with Mexican dishes: add finely chopped fresh garlic and jalepeno peppers (to taste, I put in 4 of each), and 2 T. cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I have made this bread recipe many times and it is wonderful. I like it because you don't have to wait for a starter to ripen. It's a quick fix at any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
Excellent flavor and texture and the crust is amazing (I set the crust control to medium). This one is definitely a "keeper". I didn't have barley flour and ran out of bread flour so I used mostly all purpose flour and added 1 Tbs. Vital Wheat Gluten. It baked up nice and tall ~ so nice and tall that I'm glad I didn't scale it up to a 2 lb. loaf. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
A very tasty, easy to make bread. I tried it several times, in my bread machine & in the oven (it still worked great). Not quite like real sourdough, but, a good substitute. I did make a few minor changes to add more of a 'sour tang' to the bread. I used 1 cup of real sour cream & 1 1/2 tablespoons of vinegar & a 1/4 cup more flour. It turned out tangy & chewy with a nice crust. My hubby & 3 yr old both devour this bread, they'll eat it right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This baked perfectly in my bread machine. Very soft and fluffy inside. I used all bread flour since I didn't have barley flour. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
My reviews are all based on my use of the recipe without the barley flour. I used only bread flour. I cannot say how the bread would be with the barley flour. It's great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States