Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Wow, this bread is excellent! I kept it at the 1.5 lb loaf size, and I'm glad I did because scaled to 2 lbs it would have outgrown my machine! I increased the sour cream to 1 cup since my machine is a convection and tends to dry out bread. I didn't have barley flour (I can't have it) so I just all purpose non-bleached whole wheat flour for all of the flour. I used flax seed oil, added some wheat germ and flax meal, and also 1 Tbsp of vital wheat gluten (could be why it was soooo light & fluffy!). I don't know if it was the extra sour cream, but it did taste "sour". I loved the texture much more than true sourdough and wow - what an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is so good! It's not sourdough, but it's incredibly flavorful. I make it with whole wheat flour, and add flax seeds. This is the only wheat bread I can get my kids to eat. My new defacto bread recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLEK25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: California City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This tastes just like real sourdough bread & is really easy to make. I don't use the potato flakes & it turns out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
this is the best bread machine bread i've ever made. Very Although it wasn't much like sourdough, it was very moist and flavorful . I made a two pound recipe for my two pound bread machine, but I would recommend using only a recipe for 1 1/2 lb. loaf. It was pushing on the top of my machine! I also liked the lighter crust. It seems no matter what my breads come out with a really hard crust, and thats using the basic setting (1), but this crust was much softer. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is yummy bread, sweet with a very mild tang. I made it for dinner guests and we gobbled up the whole loaf. Will make it again. I didn't give it 5 stars just because I wouldn't call it sourdough- it wasn't tangy enough for that. I did use 3 cups of bread flour instead of the barley flour...maybe barley would make it tangier....I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I've made a lot of bread and this is one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Like people said, not super sourdoughy, but I disagree that it's just like regular white bread. It has a tang to it and has much more flavor than a regular loaf of white bread. It also rises well, has a great crust, and is nice and soft inside. Makes a great sandwich and also makes **amazing** french toast. I highly recommend this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I have made this recipe before, and it makes a good loaf of bread. Not too sourdough-y, but a good loaf of white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This is the perfect recipe for bread in the bread maker. So easy and turns out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Callihan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ludington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This was very tasty for a quick recipe and for what I had on hand. I did have to substitute AP Flour for Bread Flour...which probably made for a denser loaf...but still yummy. Althought next time I will make sure to use bread flour. The only hint I have - I didn't have time to wait for sour cream to come to room temp. So, I used very hot water, wisked the sour cream with it, tested the temp and it was perfect...plus, I think it made the bread combine quicker. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States