Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
No bread machine, just a Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast with the sugar and warm water in the mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the melted butter and sour cream. After they had been well combined, I added all the dry ingredients. I did have to add an additional half cup of flour to help bind the dough enough to get it to jump on the hook. I let it knead with the hook for about five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased bowl which I covered for about an hour. I then formed it into a loaf and set it to rise again for another 45 minutes. Baked it at 350* for about a half hour. Not sourdough, but the bread has a nice twang and came out almost creamy-tasting. Very good spread with salted butter. I plan on serving it with Resteraunt Quality Baked Potato Soup. NOTE: My family ate the whole loaf. This one is a favorite of theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I don't know that I would call this much of a sourdough, but it is one of the finest loaves of white bread ever to come out of my bread machine. This is going to be my go-to recipe when I want a loaf of white bread for sandwiches or french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I live at 6244 ft elevation in CO, followed my bread maker suggestions, still fell in the middle. I did add slices of freah garlic.Since I was unsure if the middle of the bread was going to be done, I added 7 minutes of the bake cycle after the original cycle was complete. I have cut the loaf in half and it is done and the texture looks great. I am taking it to a church fundtion tonight so hopefully it will taste as good as it smells and looks on the inside. I will continue to try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Perfect! This bread turned out perfettissimo; and this was the First try on my new breadmachine! used olive oil and 2/3rds white flour to 1/3 whole wheat. didn't rise as high as I expected, probably due to messing up the order of the ingredients. anyway, big applause from the hubby = great encouragement to try more bread recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I added a dash of lemon juice to the sour cream and allowed it to sit for a few minutes...this gave a more "sour" flavor. Beautiful in taste and appearance for a bread machine loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Followed steps with exdellent results.Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This was an okay bread. I don't know that I would give it the Sourdough name or not. I was hoping for more of a kick. I will probably make it again, but not as a sourdough replacement recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaElder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I thought this bread was good. Soft on the inside and a bit crusty on the outside. I didn't use the barley flour. I didn't get the tange as stated in the introduction, but enjoyed it nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
First of all Bill …LOL …terrible name for a recipe! I am no purist and will shamelessly sneak faux into just about any dish. But, my goodness, I do have my pride and couldn’t hardly get myself to try something that starts out with fakery blatantly advertised in the name! I think I will rename it to something more elegant for further personal use. I want to pretend to like sourdough bread but every time I buy store bought I am disappointed at the wang in it that isn’t that appealing to me. But I do always like the sourdough breads they often use, toasted, on pricey burgers. Couldn’t resist trying this since I didn’t need a starter. Used all bread flour, mixed sour cream with warm water to expedite, as someone else suggested, and added finely chopped onion at my BM “fruits and nuts” add beep, as another reviewer did. While it was in the machine I was anxious the bread wasn’t going to rise enough but slowly, toward the end of the cycle, it came to life and rose to a perfect size and height. I am always leery of recipes that use 1 ½ tsp of jar yeast instead of the equivalent of an envelope; RapidRise says this is 2-¼ tsp. But I did use exactly the amount in the recipe. It smelled great with the onions (don’t recommend adding them if you have French Toast in mind though, pretty strange) and recipe made great bread, but like others it wasn’t the sourdough I was hoping for. Nice and soft though. Putting this one in my BM recipes notebook to use often. By the way Allrecipes doesn’t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Bread was very, very good. I had some whole barley grain, so I ran some through a food processor, and sifted out the hard chaff (even though that probably has a lot of nutritional value). My only complaint is this in no way resembles sourdough bread flavor--it is more like a rye bread, just barley flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States