Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This has been my go-to bread recipe for years. I recently decided to try using whole wheat flour and it worked out great! I have changed the recipe slightly: no potato flakes, Greek yogurt subbed for sour cream, and add a few tsp of vital wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
The best bread I have ever made in my bread machine, was made with potato flakes! Everyone loved it! Maybe for the barley flour, I would add whole wheat flour instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Fjeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Such a versatile recipe!! I didn't use the barley or potato flakes, just bread flour and everything else the recipe called for. For my oil, I used Wildtree Roasted Garlic Grapeseed oil. For my second batch, I used homemade onion dip instead of plain sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
We could not find Barley flour but it turned out great anyway. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Positively the best bread machine recipe I have ever found! I mixed it in the bread machine but then baked it in the oven for a perfect crust. Bread was gone in one meal for a family of five! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is the best loaf ever to come out of my machine!! I mostly just use the dough setting in winter, as I prefer loaf pan/oven baked bread, but have to use the machine in summer (I live in very hot El Paso, Tx!), so I keep trying to find loaves that are acceptable using the full bake cycle. This one is so good, I'm not even trying to do it in the oven! I use non-fat greek yogurt as it seems to be a little "tangy-er" than sour cream. I wouldn't call this bread "sourdough", but it's definetly not "plain white bread"! Thanks, Bill - I will be forever grateful to you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
EXCELLENT! Although it doesn't takes like sourdough, this bread has a wonderful texture and taste. Sometimes bread in the bread machine turns out dry or dense. This bread was neither. I will be making this again!I did use all bread flour, so perhaps that changed the outcome?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I think this is my first review! My family is ADDICTED to this bread. I am a newbie to the bread world, I just got a machine for christmas and have been playing with some recipes. I think in the last 4 days Ive made 6 loaves of this. I took the liberty of playing with the recipe after seeing other people doing it so I too used all bread flour and I substituted the sour cream for plain greek yogurt (all I had in the fridge) and it came out amazing light and fluffy and airy. I have a loaf in the machine right now that I used sour cream on and am excited to see if there is any real differnce. One of my faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This recipe is awesome as is. No changes necessary. The only thing I did not have on hand was barley flour so I used 3 cups of all purpose flour. I have made it three times now and it comes out perfect every time. Makes awesome grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States