Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Followed steps with exdellent results.Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This was an okay bread. I don't know that I would give it the Sourdough name or not. I was hoping for more of a kick. I will probably make it again, but not as a sourdough replacement recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaElder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I thought this bread was good. Soft on the inside and a bit crusty on the outside. I didn't use the barley flour. I didn't get the tange as stated in the introduction, but enjoyed it nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
First of all Bill …LOL …terrible name for a recipe! I am no purist and will shamelessly sneak faux into just about any dish. But, my goodness, I do have my pride and couldn’t hardly get myself to try something that starts out with fakery blatantly advertised in the name! I think I will rename it to something more elegant for further personal use. I want to pretend to like sourdough bread but every time I buy store bought I am disappointed at the wang in it that isn’t that appealing to me. But I do always like the sourdough breads they often use, toasted, on pricey burgers. Couldn’t resist trying this since I didn’t need a starter. Used all bread flour, mixed sour cream with warm water to expedite, as someone else suggested, and added finely chopped onion at my BM “fruits and nuts” add beep, as another reviewer did. While it was in the machine I was anxious the bread wasn’t going to rise enough but slowly, toward the end of the cycle, it came to life and rose to a perfect size and height. I am always leery of recipes that use 1 ½ tsp of jar yeast instead of the equivalent of an envelope; RapidRise says this is 2-¼ tsp. But I did use exactly the amount in the recipe. It smelled great with the onions (don’t recommend adding them if you have French Toast in mind though, pretty strange) and recipe made great bread, but like others it wasn’t the sourdough I was hoping for. Nice and soft though. Putting this one in my BM recipes notebook to use often. By the way Allrecipes doesn’t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Bread was very, very good. I had some whole barley grain, so I ran some through a food processor, and sifted out the hard chaff (even though that probably has a lot of nutritional value). My only complaint is this in no way resembles sourdough bread flavor--it is more like a rye bread, just barley flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Without a doubt, this is the best bread I've ever eaten. My whole family gobbled this bread up in two days. I typically don't care much for real sourdough because I don't like the sweetness. I love the sour flavor from the sour cream, and the texture is just perfect. We'll be making this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Excellent bread... but I agree with other reviewers and won't call it "Sourdough" in my files. Next time I will add a little more salt though. Made it with fat-free sour cream and it was plenty moist & yummy on the inside with a nice crispy crust. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Chewy inside, crusty outside. Nothing sour at all about the flavor. Used rye in lieu of barley because of availability. Had to add 2 T of water at 5 min. Good bread. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I don't know what happened. Everyone else seems to have had good luck with this bread. Mine came out low and flat on top with a sinking center. Every other bread recipe I have tried from Allrecipes has been excellent I was really anticipating a good product. What did I do wrong? Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This is great! Not quite sourdough, but that's why it's pseudo sourdough. The sour cream does add a little bit of sour tang to it. I didn't have barley flour so I used all bread flour and this is the first time I ever used my husband's breadmachine, so easy!! I'm eating my first slice now...sorry I couldn't wait for it to cool down. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States