Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
DON"T make this bread if you are truly set on a sourdough flavor. DO make this bread if you want a delicious slice of heaven. The bread has a wonderful texture, soft crust and delightful flavor. I used all bread flour, mixed in my kitchenaid, kneaded, raised (twice), then baked in a covered clay casserole. I preheated my clay for 1/2 hour in a 450* oven, then placed my loaf on parchment paper and used it to gently lift my loaf into the hot vessel. I baked in 450* oven covered for 35 minutes, then uncovered for 10-15 minutes or until the internal temperature reaches 190* IMPORTANT--Let your loaf rest for 1-2 hours before cutting into it. If not, the steam escapes your loaf leaving you with a dried out mass of dough. If my bread lasts tonight--what am talking about--ha. Not a problem; I'll just throw together another loaf tomorrow. It's that easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This bread was the best recipe I have ever made in my bread machine! It turned out beautiful and most importantly, delish! I didn't have barley flour so I used wheat in it's place. Otherwise I followed the recipe. I did customize it by slicing 6 cloves of garlic, sautéd it in a tablespoon olive oil & added in during the second kneading cycle! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hereford_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA
Living In: Le Grand, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Delicious bread! Very soft and moist. It looked perfect too.. rose up beautifully. It doesn't quite taste like sourdough, but it tastes awesome! We used the bread machine to make the dough, and then baked it in the oven. We find our breads come out nicer shaped that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I used extra rich sour creame, raised it 2 times and then made rolls. awsome!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
tasted just fine, but nothing like sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Dread-ful. I was careful to measure properly, but it was awful, the only thing I did differently was I had fat free sour cream in the house, so I substituted it... That may have been the error
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I didn't taste like sourdough bread, but it was still very good; nice texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdrwilliams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Try adding 1 teaspoon of white vinegar and you will get the "sour" taste some thought it was missing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwoodley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Although I wouldn't call this sourdough, it's still a very good white bread recipe. I loved the texture. I used all bread flour, as I did not have any barley flour, and also, as with all of my bread machine recipes, I used milk in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Delicious! It doesn't taste exactly like sourdough, which is why I left off one star. But it is very moist and soft, the crust is a little bit crunchy and it makes a beautiful loaf (the best looking loaf I've ever made). I skipped the potato flakes and barley though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States