Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is one of the best I've tried to date! Flavorful and airy on the inside. My kids loved it. I only used bread flour because that's all I had and I didn't use potato flakes because I didn't have any and it still came out great. I just started my second loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This has been my go-to bread recipe for years. I recently decided to try using whole wheat flour and it worked out great! I have changed the recipe slightly: no potato flakes, Greek yogurt subbed for sour cream, and add a few tsp of vital wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
The best bread I have ever made in my bread machine, was made with potato flakes! Everyone loved it! Maybe for the barley flour, I would add whole wheat flour instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Fjeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Such a versatile recipe!! I didn't use the barley or potato flakes, just bread flour and everything else the recipe called for. For my oil, I used Wildtree Roasted Garlic Grapeseed oil. For my second batch, I used homemade onion dip instead of plain sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
We could not find Barley flour but it turned out great anyway. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Positively the best bread machine recipe I have ever found! I mixed it in the bread machine but then baked it in the oven for a perfect crust. Bread was gone in one meal for a family of five! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is the best loaf ever to come out of my machine!! I mostly just use the dough setting in winter, as I prefer loaf pan/oven baked bread, but have to use the machine in summer (I live in very hot El Paso, Tx!), so I keep trying to find loaves that are acceptable using the full bake cycle. This one is so good, I'm not even trying to do it in the oven! I use non-fat greek yogurt as it seems to be a little "tangy-er" than sour cream. I wouldn't call this bread "sourdough", but it's definetly not "plain white bread"! Thanks, Bill - I will be forever grateful to you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
EXCELLENT! Although it doesn't takes like sourdough, this bread has a wonderful texture and taste. Sometimes bread in the bread machine turns out dry or dense. This bread was neither. I will be making this again!I did use all bread flour, so perhaps that changed the outcome?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States