Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Although I wouldn't call this sourdough, it's still a very good white bread recipe. I loved the texture. I used all bread flour, as I did not have any barley flour, and also, as with all of my bread machine recipes, I used milk in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Delicious! It doesn't taste exactly like sourdough, which is why I left off one star. But it is very moist and soft, the crust is a little bit crunchy and it makes a beautiful loaf (the best looking loaf I've ever made). I skipped the potato flakes and barley though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
A very tasty, easy to make bread. I tried it several times, in my bread machine & in the oven (it still worked great). Not quite like real sourdough, but, a good substitute. I did make a few minor changes to add more of a 'sour tang' to the bread. I used 1 cup of real sour cream & 1 1/2 tablespoons of vinegar & a 1/4 cup more flour. It turned out tangy & chewy with a nice crust. My hubby & 3 yr old both devour this bread, they'll eat it right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
As other reviewers have said, this bread was excellent! The only thing i changed is that I added 1/2 a cup of wheat flour instead of barley flour like one reviewer suggested, and I also omitted the potato flakes because I did not have any. It still came out very tasty---thanks for this wonderful recipe, Bill!!! I will definitely make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is no real sourdough but it sure is tasty. I just pulled mine out of the machine a few minutes ago and tried it. I'd compare it to a crusty French bread. Delicious and probably will make great toast in the morning with pb & jam on top. I left my sour cream out on the counter for 30 minutes before putting it in the machine. Not room temp, but not fridge cold either. Will make again for sure but I will also keep looking for that perfect sourdough recipe for the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
We love this bread!! I use whole wheat flour instead of the barley flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunset, Utah, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Not crazy about the flavor of this. I wanted tang, but it wasn't even noticeable to us. Still, an okay white bread recipe. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I used 3 c. regular all-purpose unbleached flour instead of bread or barley flour. It turned out wonderful!! The whole loaf was inhaled by our family of 6 in 1 sitting. I can't wait to try different twists on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
No bread machine, just a Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast with the sugar and warm water in the mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the melted butter and sour cream. After they had been well combined, I added all the dry ingredients. I did have to add an additional half cup of flour to help bind the dough enough to get it to jump on the hook. I let it knead with the hook for about five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased bowl which I covered for about an hour. I then formed it into a loaf and set it to rise again for another 45 minutes. Baked it at 350* for about a half hour. Not sourdough, but the bread has a nice twang and came out almost creamy-tasting. Very good spread with salted butter. I plan on serving it with Resteraunt Quality Baked Potato Soup. NOTE: My family ate the whole loaf. This one is a favorite of theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I don't know that I would call this much of a sourdough, but it is one of the finest loaves of white bread ever to come out of my bread machine. This is going to be my go-to recipe when I want a loaf of white bread for sandwiches or french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States