Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
A very tasty, easy to make bread. I tried it several times, in my bread machine & in the oven (it still worked great). Not quite like real sourdough, but, a good substitute. I did make a few minor changes to add more of a 'sour tang' to the bread. I used 1 cup of real sour cream & 1 1/2 tablespoons of vinegar & a 1/4 cup more flour. It turned out tangy & chewy with a nice crust. My hubby & 3 yr old both devour this bread, they'll eat it right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
As other reviewers have said, this bread was excellent! The only thing i changed is that I added 1/2 a cup of wheat flour instead of barley flour like one reviewer suggested, and I also omitted the potato flakes because I did not have any. It still came out very tasty---thanks for this wonderful recipe, Bill!!! I will definitely make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is no real sourdough but it sure is tasty. I just pulled mine out of the machine a few minutes ago and tried it. I'd compare it to a crusty French bread. Delicious and probably will make great toast in the morning with pb & jam on top. I left my sour cream out on the counter for 30 minutes before putting it in the machine. Not room temp, but not fridge cold either. Will make again for sure but I will also keep looking for that perfect sourdough recipe for the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
We love this bread!! I use whole wheat flour instead of the barley flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunset, Utah, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Not crazy about the flavor of this. I wanted tang, but it wasn't even noticeable to us. Still, an okay white bread recipe. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I used 3 c. regular all-purpose unbleached flour instead of bread or barley flour. It turned out wonderful!! The whole loaf was inhaled by our family of 6 in 1 sitting. I can't wait to try different twists on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
No bread machine, just a Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast with the sugar and warm water in the mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the melted butter and sour cream. After they had been well combined, I added all the dry ingredients. I did have to add an additional half cup of flour to help bind the dough enough to get it to jump on the hook. I let it knead with the hook for about five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased bowl which I covered for about an hour. I then formed it into a loaf and set it to rise again for another 45 minutes. Baked it at 350* for about a half hour. Not sourdough, but the bread has a nice twang and came out almost creamy-tasting. Very good spread with salted butter. I plan on serving it with Resteraunt Quality Baked Potato Soup. NOTE: My family ate the whole loaf. This one is a favorite of theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I don't know that I would call this much of a sourdough, but it is one of the finest loaves of white bread ever to come out of my bread machine. This is going to be my go-to recipe when I want a loaf of white bread for sandwiches or french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I live at 6244 ft elevation in CO, followed my bread maker suggestions, still fell in the middle. I did add slices of freah garlic.Since I was unsure if the middle of the bread was going to be done, I added 7 minutes of the bake cycle after the original cycle was complete. I have cut the loaf in half and it is done and the texture looks great. I am taking it to a church fundtion tonight so hopefully it will taste as good as it smells and looks on the inside. I will continue to try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Perfect! This bread turned out perfettissimo; and this was the First try on my new breadmachine! used olive oil and 2/3rds white flour to 1/3 whole wheat. didn't rise as high as I expected, probably due to messing up the order of the ingredients. anyway, big applause from the hubby = great encouragement to try more bread recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States