Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Dread-ful. I was careful to measure properly, but it was awful, the only thing I did differently was I had fat free sour cream in the house, so I substituted it... That may have been the error
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I didn't taste like sourdough bread, but it was still very good; nice texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdrwilliams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Try adding 1 teaspoon of white vinegar and you will get the "sour" taste some thought it was missing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwoodley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Although I wouldn't call this sourdough, it's still a very good white bread recipe. I loved the texture. I used all bread flour, as I did not have any barley flour, and also, as with all of my bread machine recipes, I used milk in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Delicious! It doesn't taste exactly like sourdough, which is why I left off one star. But it is very moist and soft, the crust is a little bit crunchy and it makes a beautiful loaf (the best looking loaf I've ever made). I skipped the potato flakes and barley though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
A very tasty, easy to make bread. I tried it several times, in my bread machine & in the oven (it still worked great). Not quite like real sourdough, but, a good substitute. I did make a few minor changes to add more of a 'sour tang' to the bread. I used 1 cup of real sour cream & 1 1/2 tablespoons of vinegar & a 1/4 cup more flour. It turned out tangy & chewy with a nice crust. My hubby & 3 yr old both devour this bread, they'll eat it right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
As other reviewers have said, this bread was excellent! The only thing i changed is that I added 1/2 a cup of wheat flour instead of barley flour like one reviewer suggested, and I also omitted the potato flakes because I did not have any. It still came out very tasty---thanks for this wonderful recipe, Bill!!! I will definitely make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is no real sourdough but it sure is tasty. I just pulled mine out of the machine a few minutes ago and tried it. I'd compare it to a crusty French bread. Delicious and probably will make great toast in the morning with pb & jam on top. I left my sour cream out on the counter for 30 minutes before putting it in the machine. Not room temp, but not fridge cold either. Will make again for sure but I will also keep looking for that perfect sourdough recipe for the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
We love this bread!! I use whole wheat flour instead of the barley flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunset, Utah, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Not crazy about the flavor of this. I wanted tang, but it wasn't even noticeable to us. Still, an okay white bread recipe. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States