Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This recipe is awesome as is. No changes necessary. The only thing I did not have on hand was barley flour so I used 3 cups of all purpose flour. I have made it three times now and it comes out perfect every time. Makes awesome grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Nice bread. A tad tangy with a soft crumb . . .and it rises very well. I made in the bread machine on the dough setting, then took it out and let it rise in the pan for a half hour, then baked at 375 for 40 minutes. Turned out well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Awesome! Used all Bread flour instead of the barley flour and it turned out to be the best bread I have ever made. I have a black and decker 1.5lb machine and IGNORING the manufacturer's instructions to put the yeast in last has made all the difference. Put the yeast in with the liquid ingredients and stir,then add the dry ingredients. THANKS for posting this it will be a staple at our house for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This a very good bread... I followed the recipe except I used entirely regular all purpose flour. I will definetly make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was the first time ever that I used a bread maker and it turned out quite good. The reason for 4 stars is like others say it's not very sourdoughy. But it made quite a tasty loaf of bread and I wouldn't hesitate to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Elizabeth Musgrove
Home Town: Wakefield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was really good. Not super sour but had a very soft middle and crisp crust. Great warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I followed this recipe but lacked a lot of ingredients--no potato flakes, no barley flour, shortage of white flour, and low on sour cream. Even with having to omit potato flakes, supplement the 3 cups of bread flour with 1/2 cup of whole wheat because I ran out, and replacing over half of the sour cream with nonfat Greek yogurt...and also adding 2 crushed garlic cloves to the cycle for garlic sourdough bread...it is still one of the best breads out of my machine yet! I'm thankful this basic recipe could withstand so many substitutions and still be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Enjoyable loaf of bread. Like others have already mentioned, despite the title, I detected no hint of sourdough flavor. If you disregard the somewhat misleading recipe title, then the loaf itself works as directed and tastes very good. It has a bright white color with a soft texture and slightly crusty exterior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This bread was so good I had to do my very first review! Probably the softest, most moist bread I've baked to date. My husband is still complimenting me! I used 2.5 tsps of bread machine yeast having run out of dry yeast and it rose too high and then fell. Since there will definitely be a next time, I'll try it with less yeast. Otherwise, perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fort Mitchell, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This recipe was very good! I used all bread flour, used 0% Greek yogurt in place of sour cream and added some white vinegar for extra tang. Probably about 1.5 Tbs. These changes do make it taste sour although not as sour as a true sourdough. We loved it! Served it at a family dinner and everyone commented how great it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States