Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was the first time ever that I used a bread maker and it turned out quite good. The reason for 4 stars is like others say it's not very sourdoughy. But it made quite a tasty loaf of bread and I wouldn't hesitate to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Elizabeth Musgrove
Home Town: Wakefield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was really good. Not super sour but had a very soft middle and crisp crust. Great warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I followed this recipe but lacked a lot of ingredients--no potato flakes, no barley flour, shortage of white flour, and low on sour cream. Even with having to omit potato flakes, supplement the 3 cups of bread flour with 1/2 cup of whole wheat because I ran out, and replacing over half of the sour cream with nonfat Greek yogurt...and also adding 2 crushed garlic cloves to the cycle for garlic sourdough bread...it is still one of the best breads out of my machine yet! I'm thankful this basic recipe could withstand so many substitutions and still be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Enjoyable loaf of bread. Like others have already mentioned, despite the title, I detected no hint of sourdough flavor. If you disregard the somewhat misleading recipe title, then the loaf itself works as directed and tastes very good. It has a bright white color with a soft texture and slightly crusty exterior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This bread was so good I had to do my very first review! Probably the softest, most moist bread I've baked to date. My husband is still complimenting me! I used 2.5 tsps of bread machine yeast having run out of dry yeast and it rose too high and then fell. Since there will definitely be a next time, I'll try it with less yeast. Otherwise, perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fort Mitchell, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This recipe was very good! I used all bread flour, used 0% Greek yogurt in place of sour cream and added some white vinegar for extra tang. Probably about 1.5 Tbs. These changes do make it taste sour although not as sour as a true sourdough. We loved it! Served it at a family dinner and everyone commented how great it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
i make a sourdough the night befor use 1cup bread flour and1 teasp.yeast from the ingredientsin your recipe then add the rest of flour and yeast the next day this gives the gough the sour taste hope it was help full
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanbun USA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kassel, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
DON"T make this bread if you are truly set on a sourdough flavor. DO make this bread if you want a delicious slice of heaven. The bread has a wonderful texture, soft crust and delightful flavor. I used all bread flour, mixed in my kitchenaid, kneaded, raised (twice), then baked in a covered clay casserole. I preheated my clay for 1/2 hour in a 450* oven, then placed my loaf on parchment paper and used it to gently lift my loaf into the hot vessel. I baked in 450* oven covered for 35 minutes, then uncovered for 10-15 minutes or until the internal temperature reaches 190* IMPORTANT--Let your loaf rest for 1-2 hours before cutting into it. If not, the steam escapes your loaf leaving you with a dried out mass of dough. If my bread lasts tonight--what am talking about--ha. Not a problem; I'll just throw together another loaf tomorrow. It's that easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This bread was the best recipe I have ever made in my bread machine! It turned out beautiful and most importantly, delish! I didn't have barley flour so I used wheat in it's place. Otherwise I followed the recipe. I did customize it by slicing 6 cloves of garlic, sautéd it in a tablespoon olive oil & added in during the second kneading cycle! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hereford_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA
Living In: Le Grand, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Delicious bread! Very soft and moist. It looked perfect too.. rose up beautifully. It doesn't quite taste like sourdough, but it tastes awesome! We used the bread machine to make the dough, and then baked it in the oven. We find our breads come out nicer shaped that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States